Russian Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Loved this bread! Very savory! I did add a little more flour to the bread machine as the dough was kneaded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Good recipe. I tried it, because my wife is Russian, and we both love black bread. It didn't really taste the same to us, but the taste is at least as good. I would call this a pumpernickel. I modified it a little and by now have made ten loaves at least. As written, this dough was too wet for my machine. I'm recommending 1.25 cups of water instead of 1.5. (Also, I live at 6300 feet -- or 1920 meters-- above sea level, and half a teaspoon of active dry yeast up here is plenty. More yeast creates a giant bubble atop the loaf that subsequently implodes into a bowl shape.) I use 1.5 tsp of salt instead of 1, and I add a quarter teaspoon of dill seed as well. Both changes improve the taste, I think. Substituting molasses for dark corn syrup works fine, as does butter for margarine, but neither of these latter two substitutions particularly improves the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This turned out really well. The bread has a lot of flavor and makes a big loaf, lasting for a long time. http://cookingwithdoyle.com/index.php/russian-black-bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I did change a few things in this recipe, but it was incredible! I think it would be 5 stars either way, but I used whole wheat flour instead of bread flour, swapped corn syrup for molasses, no brown sugar and used tbsp unsweetened applesauce and 1 tbsp olive oil. I didn't have caraway or add fennel, but this bread was so rich with a perfect crust, I will definitely make it again! I used the dough setting and rolled it out into a rye loaf shape to bake. I even forgot the paddle in the bread maker for the first while, and it still turned out! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicity

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is so good. Will be a staple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Lovely bread. Dark and flavousome with a little 'tang' from the vinegar and seeds. The texture was light yet chewy. Perfect with a wholesome soup to provide a complete meal. Will definitely be making this many times in the future. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
YUM! Great with German food and super-yummy as a grilled cheese sandwich. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I have made other recipes for Russian Black Bread but this is the best I have ever made. My family said it looked as if I had bought the loaf in a artisan bake shop and they gobbled it up and asked for more. The recipe was followed exactly, mixed in bread machine, shaped and baked in oven. The only change I made was to brush the loaf after slashing with water instead of egg white and then sprinkling kosher salt over it. I also milled my own hard white, hard red and rye grain. The crust was crisp and chewy just like I personally like and the aroma while baking in the oven was absolutely heavenly. Thank you for posting this recipe. I have another loaf in the overn as we speak. BTW the dough is very wet and sticky but don't add extra flour, just wet and rewet your whole hands to take it out of the bread machine and again when you are shaping the loaf. Your hands won't stick to the dough as long as they are wet and you can work with it with no trouble. It is supposed to be a wet slack dough. I keep a bowl of water beside me when taking out of machine and shaping on the meal dusted parchment and rewet my hands as needed, a trick I learned from a bread baker I know. Prepare to be amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Bread machine not needed.take yeast1/2tsp extra with brown sugar, 110f water & prove it.then add it to the dough . Also I didn't have bread flour, used all purpose with 2tbsp wheat gluten.Combine everything in stand mixer & let rise in greased bowl until double in size. Mine rose beautifully, almost triple.Then divide dough into 2equal halves &place them in medium size loaf pan & let rise again till double (minimum 30min).mine rose very beautifully but I don't know why it got deflated "a little" prior to baking.Baked both loaves 350f for 35min.Got little hard on top, 30 min would have been fine.Anyway its wasn't bad, but I wouldn't consider it perfect either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Delicious! The only thing I will change for next time is to make one loaf instead of two out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States