Russian Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
The consistency of the bread was good, but none of us liked the taste. I suspect it was the caraway. The taste was very strong. We each took a few bites, and that was it. Perhaps we'd like this bread if the caraway was omitted, but I'm not sure if I'm going to try this one again . . . sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was delicious toasted for breakfast! It was not quite as dark as I would have liked but it still had good flavor. Made it for Halloween along with non-alcoholic firewhiskey from this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Love this bread. I use molasses instead of corn syrup. I make 2 loaves and bake it at 350'F for 35 min, as suggested by one reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Turned out great! Thank you so much for the recipe and the comments! Thanks to the comments I substituted molasses for dark corn syrup ( didn't have any syrup at home). The recipe calls for 1 1/2 cup of water, so i used one cup of water and half cup of coffee (thanks to the comments again), cause I didn't have any instant coffee at home. I normally never post comments, but had to register and leave my comment on this one! I will be making it all the time! It tastes just like the bread I remember when growing up in Ukraine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeffrey Brown
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This is the first raised bread I've made, and it was an amazing one to start on! The flavors all work perfectly together, and it's so soft and perfect the first time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dwight J Young
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This recipe is AMAZING. I love a good, heavy homemade bread with lots of flavor, and this does NOT disappoint! Minor quibble: instructions only assume the cook uses a bread machine. This recipe is also easily prepared the traditional way: 1. Combine the dry ingredients (except yeast) 2. Combine the yeast and the wet ingredients, except the butter (I always use unsalted butter for breads.) 3. Mix the wet and dry ingredients together. Add the softened butter, then turn out onto a floured surface and knead until smooth and firm. 4. Return the ball of dough to a greased bowl, cover, and put in a warm place to rise until doubled in size, about an hour or so. 5. Punch down, then turn out and separate into two portions. 6. Form each portion into a loaf and put into loaf pans. 7. Cover loaf pans and allow dough to rise again until doubled in size, about another hour. 8. Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes until crust is golden and bread sounds hollow when thumped. 9. Put loaves out onto a wire rack to cool. Optional: you may want to brush egg white over the loaves and sprinkle with kosher salt and/or sesame seeds just before baking for extra-attractive and delicious crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dwight J Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I tried the recipe and the list of ingredients (I adjusted the caraway seed down) and all worked well in the end. unfortunately I had to reference other similar recipes to get the preperation and cooking instructions. So the end result was good for me but the recipe is incomplete if you prefer to work without a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Like others, I will use molasses in place of the dark corn syrup. Very soft dough but came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I don't drink coffee at all and hubby doesn't drink instant so I left out the coffee granules. Other than that followed directions as stated. I had never had Russian Black Bread before but my husband had and loved it. Told me it was as good as any he'd had from a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Loved this bread! Very savory! I did add a little more flour to the bread machine as the dough was kneaded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States