Russian Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I had a bit of trouble with this bread, unfortunately. The flavor was satisfactory, but my bread took much longer than one hour to rise and burnt (on the bottom) at the oven temperature given in the instructions while the interior of the bread remained raw. I made the recipe twice (using the traditional method without a bread machine) and had the same problem both times. To be fair, I made free-form round loaves cooked on a sheet pan with parchment rather than using conventional loaf pans. Just the same, I would plan on allowing two or three hours for the initial rise and perhaps lowering the baking temperature a bit (at least for part of the baking period).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I wasn't erecting batter bread. I ground my rye and wheat but sifted a couple times; used 1.5 c AP flour just to avoid bricking it. Good flavor but not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
The consistency of the bread was good, but none of us liked the taste. I suspect it was the caraway. The taste was very strong. We each took a few bites, and that was it. Perhaps we'd like this bread if the caraway was omitted, but I'm not sure if I'm going to try this one again . . . sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was delicious toasted for breakfast! It was not quite as dark as I would have liked but it still had good flavor. Made it for Halloween along with non-alcoholic firewhiskey from this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Love this bread. I use molasses instead of corn syrup. I make 2 loaves and bake it at 350'F for 35 min, as suggested by one reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Turned out great! Thank you so much for the recipe and the comments! Thanks to the comments I substituted molasses for dark corn syrup ( didn't have any syrup at home). The recipe calls for 1 1/2 cup of water, so i used one cup of water and half cup of coffee (thanks to the comments again), cause I didn't have any instant coffee at home. I normally never post comments, but had to register and leave my comment on this one! I will be making it all the time! It tastes just like the bread I remember when growing up in Ukraine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeffrey Brown
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This is the first raised bread I've made, and it was an amazing one to start on! The flavors all work perfectly together, and it's so soft and perfect the first time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dwight J Young
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This recipe is AMAZING. I love a good, heavy homemade bread with lots of flavor, and this does NOT disappoint! Minor quibble: instructions only assume the cook uses a bread machine. This recipe is also easily prepared the traditional way: 1. Combine the dry ingredients (except yeast) 2. Combine the yeast and the wet ingredients, except the butter (I always use unsalted butter for breads.) 3. Mix the wet and dry ingredients together. Add the softened butter, then turn out onto a floured surface and knead until smooth and firm. 4. Return the ball of dough to a greased bowl, cover, and put in a warm place to rise until doubled in size, about an hour or so. 5. Punch down, then turn out and separate into two portions. 6. Form each portion into a loaf and put into loaf pans. 7. Cover loaf pans and allow dough to rise again until doubled in size, about another hour. 8. Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes until crust is golden and bread sounds hollow when thumped. 9. Put loaves out onto a wire rack to cool. Optional: you may want to brush egg white over the loaves and sprinkle with kosher salt and/or sesame seeds just before baking for extra-attractive and delicious crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dwight J Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I tried the recipe and the list of ingredients (I adjusted the caraway seed down) and all worked well in the end. unfortunately I had to reference other similar recipes to get the preperation and cooking instructions. So the end result was good for me but the recipe is incomplete if you prefer to work without a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Like others, I will use molasses in place of the dark corn syrup. Very soft dough but came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States