Russian Beet and Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I am not really sure beets will be ready in 30 minutes. It usually takes hours to make beets tender and ready to use. The other tip - cube the veggies when they cool off, potatos won't stick to other veggies and it won't look like a mess ;-) Good luck~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I did my own take on this recipe. I boiled the beets, and fried the potato and carrots. I used a cucumber and dill weed in place of the pickles. It turned out nicely! Thanks for inspiring me to create a twist of your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good. I can't give any info on how authentic it is though but I like very much. Here are my mods: I make double so I doubled all the ingredients EXCEPT the oil and onion. This seems to increase the presence of the beet and carrot flavors imo. It also reduces the fat per serving making this a pretty healthy potato salad. I didn't have any champagne vinegar but raspberry vinegar works VERY well it seems. I think I'll try mustard next time as well. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANDRONICKY
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Great recipe. I used mayonnaise instead of the vinegar and oil and added some finely sliced dill. It was excellent and everyone cleaned their plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I love it but with some changes! The salad calls for sauerkraut and onions (not only green). Also you can add kidney beans and mustard. And the best oil here is sunflowerseed oil. Vinegar is not a must. Actually I can't imagine the taste of the salad with any kind of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Yummy! This was my first using beets and I was pleasantly surprised! Thank you for sharing this unique and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
It's a nice refreshing summer salad. Good also after a night of drinking like a Russian :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
it is an authentic russian recipe. I live in Russia. That's exactly how it's made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I decrease oil and only use a but 1 tablespoon and add a can of peas, a young girl from the Ukraine insisted it had to have canned peas. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I really like this recipe - the pickles are an excellent surprise combined with the beets. also, if you can keep the beets from bleeding on the rest of the salad, it is very colorful - orange, white, green, red. I tried it this time with turnips also. good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States