Russian Beet and Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I really like this recipe - the pickles are an excellent surprise combined with the beets. also, if you can keep the beets from bleeding on the rest of the salad, it is very colorful - orange, white, green, red. I tried it this time with turnips also. good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I decrease oil and only use a but 1 tablespoon and add a can of peas, a young girl from the Ukraine insisted it had to have canned peas. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Made it a bit different: Used 2 med onions 3-4 polish pickles 1/4 cup of olive oil 2-3 tblsp of mayo 1lb of sauerkraut 3 large beets 7 small potatoes 4 large carrots salt to taste Boil veggies all together without peeling until cooked, you may have to remove the carrots and potatoes before the beets as they take longer. meanwhile sautee chopped onion with a tsp of butter, chop pickles and add sauerkraut to bowl. When veggies are done, peel and chop(dice), add mayo, salt to taste and olive oil. mix all together! Divine!Make a huge amount of salad, good for potlucks, parties etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsedlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
it is an authentic russian recipe. I live in Russia. That's exactly how it's made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
In the traditional version you never add vinegar or green onions. Though it's good to mention that people from different regions of Russia had their own versions. Instead of green onions we always used white onion. Adding a fresh cucumber or frying potatoes like other reviewers did is a big no no. People, you can change whatever you want, but you can't rate than the recipe correctly or call it authentic! A tip: dice the ingredients into smaller pieces - you will have better presentation and better absorption of the flavors. Also, let the salad sit in your fridge over night - this will allow flavors to blend better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good. I can't give any info on how authentic it is though but I like very much. Here are my mods: I make double so I doubled all the ingredients EXCEPT the oil and onion. This seems to increase the presence of the beet and carrot flavors imo. It also reduces the fat per serving making this a pretty healthy potato salad. I didn't have any champagne vinegar but raspberry vinegar works VERY well it seems. I think I'll try mustard next time as well. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
It's a nice refreshing summer salad. Good also after a night of drinking like a Russian :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I skipped the carrots and substituted Leeks for green onions (more fiber and a milder less acidic taste in my opinion). I also think I should have used Russets instead of the Yukon Golds. The Golds got too soft too quickly and turned orange. I think the starchier potato would have served the recipe better. I have to admit, I had a salad very very similar to this at a dinner a few months ago and that one was wonderful (cooked by people who had all spent time living in Russia, including a man visiting from Siberia). This was not as good, I think it's missing something. Maybe some Worcestershire Sauce? I unfortunately don't have any to try. As is, it is kind of bland. I may try it with pickled beets instead of boiled and see how that turns out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Great recipe. I used mayonnaise instead of the vinegar and oil and added some finely sliced dill. It was excellent and everyone cleaned their plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States