Russian Beet and Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I really enjoyed this, it's simple and easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I had this salad the other day, made by a woman who lived in Russia and it was absolutely wonderful. This was the exact same recipe she gave. Tara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lavalette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Magog, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Great on the first attempt ! I made the dressing with light olive oil and white wine vinegar (already on my shelf) and added the salt here. I left out the pickles in favour of some fresh red cabbage. I was going to add some red onion but will save that for my second attempt. I cubed the beets and potatoes considerably larger than depicted in the photo; my preference and less work ! Agreed, Nataly. I cooked the beets for more than 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
My husband is from Ukraine and one of his favorite dishes is his Mom's beet salad. I decided to test this recipe out and see what he thought. He loved it and he had no suggestions!! He thought the green onions and vinegar were a nice touch. I did use balsamic vinegar instead of champagne vinegar. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Great recipe, although I prefer mine with mayonnaise. Tip for cooking beets fast - trim the stem, then put them in a covered pyrex dish with about 1-2" of water. STick it in the microwave for 10 minutes, turn the beets, then nuke it another 10 minutes. Let them sit to cool down, and they should be perfectly cooked. You may need to adjust the time according to the size of the beets and your microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNNKYBUTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA
Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
It's a great way to use up leftover beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
In Russia we call it vinaigrette but we never add vinegar in it. Usually it's served with some oil. I like it with mayonnaise most of all. In my family it always consists if sauerkraut, boiled beets, potatoes, carrots and onions. But I'm craving already to try it with balsamic vinegar, at least it will be much more healthy than with mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I forgot to mention - I usually boil beets around 40-45 minutes, not 30 minutes. You should be able to pierce them with fork easily. Do not peel before boiling. Cool, then peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travinka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I really like this recipe - the pickles are an excellent surprise combined with the beets. also, if you can keep the beets from bleeding on the rest of the salad, it is very colorful - orange, white, green, red. I tried it this time with turnips also. good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States