Russian Beet Salad with Herring Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
My favorite Russian Salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
NICE! I love Shuba!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
My darling and I ran into a 2.50$ pack of smoked herring in the store, sniffed it and were transfixed. We had some leftovers of potato salad (with onion, lemon and vinegar) from the previous day, so I invested 1$ in a can of beets and microwaved the remaining baby carrots that were counting days on the bottom of our fridge. As the herrings were hellishly salty, I soaked them in water for 20-30 min and only used three pieces. I had some sour cream, so I added it to one of the potato layers. I also boiled two eggs and added them on top, with a thin layer of mayo, a pinch of dried parsley and two (leftover) lemon slices for decoration. I haven't added any more salt nor pepper, except for what was already in the potato salad and herrings. It was DIVINE. I will make this many times in the future. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
To remove excess salt herring, it must be cleaned and put it on 30 minutes in the milk. And to remove the bitterness of the onion, chop it and place it in the boiling water. Even sometimes add a thin layer of sweet-sour apple. It's not for everybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My Grandmother makes a similar salad like this, she says it's Slovenian, but I'm thinking she borrowed it from Russia. I've got a great recipe for Borscht Moskovsky that I made to go along with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
LOVE this salad. I used to have this when I was younger, but didn't know how to make it. Thank you! Everyone out there who hasn't tried this, it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Original name of this salad is "pod shuboi"-Herring under the Winter Coat. Use to love it back in russia! Where can i find herring fillets in oil? PLS help!!!! Can't wait to make this salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
russian food the best was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Shuba!! Love this. It may not be an American taste, but it is delicious! Thanks for the recipe Evgeniya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sasha
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Thank you, Evgeniya. This is one of my favorite salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States