Russell's Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was a delicious fish soup recipe! I followed the recipe for the most part...but added more of the ingredients listed as well as added others. I added some extra seafood: shrimp, crab legs, shelled clams as well as canned clams, octopus (my husband likes it), extran white fish as well, and an extra can of stewed tomatoes. I also added a little more water to make it more soupy and simmered uncovered on very low flame to ensure that the liquid stayed more soupy and not stewy. I added the seafood and cilantro after the hour simmering for about 10-12 minutes. It turned out great and I served it with crusty french bread and lemon wedges on the side. My husband said he wants this for his birthday now!! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks "Dlish"...is was Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I made this last night- it was fantatstic. I added fresh chopped clams, extra cod and a can of sweet corn. I kept the cilantro to a minimum because I am not a big fan, and the stew still had unbelievable flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I was hugry for something a little mexican tasting, so used the zesty mexican tomatoes and substituted diced bell pepper for carrots. I always use less oil, sprayed w/olive oil pam and about 1 tb oil. left out the crushed red peppers r/t the spicy tomatoes. My husband never moaned so much during a meal! It was very good, a hint of heat. Could add more at the table if you wanted. The broth was phenomenal! Served w/brown rice to add to the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
We really loved this recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
My whole family loooooves this recipe. No changes needed. The cilantro is what makes it different and delicious for us, so if you don't like cilantro, I wouldn't recommend this to you. I wouldn't use dried cilantro, either. It just has a completely different flavor. I signed on to Allrecipes just so I could give this a 5-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
excellent recipe!!! Had to substitute a few things because I didn't have them at home. Used chicken stock instead of water, added 7 oz more tomatoes, omitted clam juice and sherry, omitted cilantro. Added 8 oz frozen reg, green and yellow peppers. Used 1lb frozen calamari, shrimp and scallops. turned out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This recipe is delicious just as it is! The whole family loves this so much that I have had to make up quadruple batches to pass out to family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaFoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
We thouroughly enjoyed it and didn't think it needed to be changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I've made this recipe many times and it's truly delish.!! I add a small can of clams and more shrimp. This is one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe. We made enough to have leftovers and it was even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States