Russell's Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I've made this recipe many times and it's truly delish.!! I add a small can of clams and more shrimp. This is one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
We thouroughly enjoyed it and didn't think it needed to be changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Ditto the other reviewer. I'm not sure what the difference is between mine and those who "loved it", but I do know one thing. Any recipe for fish stew that has SIXTEEN ingredients raises a red flag. Good fish stew is an incredibly simple recipe. With all due respect, this one ain't simple, it has too many ingrediaents and when I made it, it was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rayc441

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This recipe is delicious just as it is! The whole family loves this so much that I have had to make up quadruple batches to pass out to family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaFoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
excellent recipe!!! Had to substitute a few things because I didn't have them at home. Used chicken stock instead of water, added 7 oz more tomatoes, omitted clam juice and sherry, omitted cilantro. Added 8 oz frozen reg, green and yellow peppers. Used 1lb frozen calamari, shrimp and scallops. turned out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
My whole family loooooves this recipe. No changes needed. The cilantro is what makes it different and delicious for us, so if you don't like cilantro, I wouldn't recommend this to you. I wouldn't use dried cilantro, either. It just has a completely different flavor. I signed on to Allrecipes just so I could give this a 5-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I've been making this soup for a few winters now and it's really great, wonderful blend of flavors. It bugs me when people review a recipe but make tons of changes; that being said the ONLY thing I changed was instead of adding red pepper flakes, I used Old Bay Seasoning instead. (I live just a few miles from the Chesapeake Bay, so we have to add Old Bay to anything seafood!) I simmered it for more like 2 hours so the flavors really blended. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was ok, but just kinda boring. The only thing I did differently was to add a shrimp-flavored bouillon cube. Maybe our taste buds were just having an off day but we weren't that impressed. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This is a delicious soup. I used chicken broth and still added a bouillon cube, which gave a richer flavor. Cut back 1/2 on the red pepper since my husband doesn't like too much "hot" and added 1/2 lb of scallops as well. Didn't have fresh cilantro so used dried in moderation. I used a good quality rather dry white wine as the sherry adds enough sweetness. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I'm not quite sure what was different between mine and the other reviewers on here, but no one liked this at all. Even before adding the fish, the smell was not appetizing. Too bad, I was really looking forward to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States