Russell's Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I used this recipe and we all loved it. I added one can of clams and instead of water I used carrot juice and replaced the stewed tomatoes with 1 1/2 fresh diced tomatoes. I used ground red pepper as I wanted it to blend out. Great stew! I also had fresh zuccinni sitting on the counter so I added it and replaced the carrots with it. My kids of course ate something else like chicken, cheese, ramen and baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Wonderful as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Loved it! Did not change a thing. Next time I might add a touch more seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I hate when people change the recipe and then complain about the original recipe but... I was looking for a fish soup that wasn't a cream base. This one was a great starter. I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I didn't use the wine or sherry or the clam juice, just added extra chicken broth but I think those additions would be great. Not much of a cilantro fan either. I subbed salmon for white fish. I added Old Bay Seasoning instead of the red peppers too. Thank you for getting me started!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Loved this!!! I'd never made a fish stew before and this was easy and tasted terrific. The only thing I changed was the following: added 12 littleneck clams, 1 large, peeled and cubed russet potato, and 2 extra chicken boullion cubes (mostly b/c I know I prefer a saltier taste). Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My husband, a restaurant owner and self-avowed food critic, loved it! Had two bowls and asked how I made it. That never happens. I did add more wine, used mahi-mahi and added potato chunks toward the end. The flavors were perfect! A very hearty stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDavid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is a fantastic soup, and deceptively simple to make. We altered some ingredients as follows: 1 can RoTel Diced Tomatoes w/ Habaneros for 1 can stewed tomatoes, 2 cans Bar Harbor Fish Stock for water, 2 tablespoons Better Than Bouillon No Chicken Base for chicken bouillon cubes. Used sea scallops rather than fish but only because they were already in the fridge. We also had some left over fresh Italian parsley which we chopped and added with the cilantro. If you like a soup with some kick, the Habaneros give it to you and the fish stock gives an added depth of flavor. This is a top shelf soup recipe for us, and plan to enjoy it often! Thank you Dlish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I stuck to the exact recipe and it turned out suprisingly good! I knew it would be good, but it was REALLY GOOD! My dad brought the pot to the table when there was no more left and wiped the pot with a piece of bread! It says 6 servings, but it's really more like 4. If you're feeding 4 or more, you should probably double up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I've never tried making a fish stew, but in searching for new and interesting diet-friendly things I found this. Super scrumptious -- so deliciously flavorful, and with just the right amount of spiciness!!! I used tilapia for the fish (had 3 lbs. of it in the freezer), plus added a can of whole baby clams along with the juice. I didn't have sherry, so just used the white wine. Other than that, followed the recipe as written. Read all of the reviews (mostly all positive) and can't quite understand the one that claimed there are too many ingredients for fish stew?? I guess we all have our own tastes, but this is restaurant-quality IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I was really concerned about the amount of alcohol in this soup because if something tastes like it has too much wine then my kids do not like it. I should not have worried. I cannot believe how fast my family ate this! I had to use diced tomatoes instead of stewed so I am sure that did create some difference but it was still great. The main thing I did differently was sub half the shrimp with a large can of whole baby clams. I used the broth for the clam juice and just dumped the clams in after it had finished cooking. That worked perfectly since my youngest does not like shrimp and pulled it out. More for mel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States