Russell's Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I rolled with the punches and use a couple ounces of Marsala and the rest Chardonnay. I omitted the clam juice and shrimp because I had a 1 year old over for dinner. I used pollack (since it's 1.99) and emeril's rub for 30 mins on the fish. Everything else but cilantro and carrot (didn't have any) and added mushrooms and diced yellow pepper and it came out great. For the people that didn't like it just empty your veggy crisper into the stew and add some spice and everything will be fine. This was a nice framework for the canvass we cook on, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I made this the other day and it was delish!!! My husband and I both really liked it. My husband didn't like all the cilantro so next time I'll cut back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Absolutely amazing soup! Love love love it...will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I absolutely this recipe!! Instead of adding the redd peppers (since I did not have any) I added about 10- 20 dashes of Old Bay Seasoning. It made it taste AMAZING!!!!! I would suggest using fresh fish, so that you don't get that metal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I used this recipe and we all loved it. I added one can of clams and instead of water I used carrot juice and replaced the stewed tomatoes with 1 1/2 fresh diced tomatoes. I used ground red pepper as I wanted it to blend out. Great stew! I also had fresh zuccinni sitting on the counter so I added it and replaced the carrots with it. My kids of course ate something else like chicken, cheese, ramen and baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Wonderful as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Loved it! Did not change a thing. Next time I might add a touch more seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I hate when people change the recipe and then complain about the original recipe but... I was looking for a fish soup that wasn't a cream base. This one was a great starter. I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I didn't use the wine or sherry or the clam juice, just added extra chicken broth but I think those additions would be great. Not much of a cilantro fan either. I subbed salmon for white fish. I added Old Bay Seasoning instead of the red peppers too. Thank you for getting me started!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Loved this!!! I'd never made a fish stew before and this was easy and tasted terrific. The only thing I changed was the following: added 12 littleneck clams, 1 large, peeled and cubed russet potato, and 2 extra chicken boullion cubes (mostly b/c I know I prefer a saltier taste). Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My husband, a restaurant owner and self-avowed food critic, loved it! Had two bowls and asked how I made it. That never happens. I did add more wine, used mahi-mahi and added potato chunks toward the end. The flavors were perfect! A very hearty stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDavid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States