Russell's Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This was delicious! I used some frozen haddock, which was perfect for this soup because it is a firm, flavorful fish that melds perfectly with the other flavors of this stew. I also substituted two cans of minced clams with the juice for the clam juice for added texture and flavor. My husband and I enjoyed every drop of this delicious, perfectly balanced soup. I toasted french bread in the oven to a very crisp, crouton-like state and floated it in the soup. Will make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This recipe was great. I added a tsp or so of Old Bay seasoning and 1 16oz can of navy beans(drained)when I added the fish(I used cod)and shrimp. I also threw in the fresh celery leaves from the celery stalks. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Great starter recipie. I never follow recipies to the t. I sliced 1 lemon ,shelled the shrimp and crab legs and 1lobster and started my base with those shells in water and chicken broth. Only used canned plum tomatoes and crush them with my hand and dice a large herloom tomato. I used clam juice and a bit of fish sauce one pinch of cayenne(my on wont eat any fish anyways). It always comes out different depending what seafood is fresh but its always good and sometimes i just drink the wine and dont even put it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel C Fiorella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This delicious and worth every minute to make it. The taste is divine. I( used monkfish only, no shrimp, but I'm sure it would be nice with the shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I rolled with the punches and use a couple ounces of Marsala and the rest Chardonnay. I omitted the clam juice and shrimp because I had a 1 year old over for dinner. I used pollack (since it's 1.99) and emeril's rub for 30 mins on the fish. Everything else but cilantro and carrot (didn't have any) and added mushrooms and diced yellow pepper and it came out great. For the people that didn't like it just empty your veggy crisper into the stew and add some spice and everything will be fine. This was a nice framework for the canvass we cook on, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I've made this before and my husband and I love it! I doubled the recipe so I could freeze it since winter is coming! It's really good and warms your insides!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Absolutely amazing soup! Love love love it...will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I absolutely this recipe!! Instead of adding the redd peppers (since I did not have any) I added about 10- 20 dashes of Old Bay Seasoning. It made it taste AMAZING!!!!! I would suggest using fresh fish, so that you don't get that metal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I used this recipe and we all loved it. I added one can of clams and instead of water I used carrot juice and replaced the stewed tomatoes with 1 1/2 fresh diced tomatoes. I used ground red pepper as I wanted it to blend out. Great stew! I also had fresh zuccinni sitting on the counter so I added it and replaced the carrots with it. My kids of course ate something else like chicken, cheese, ramen and baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Wonderful as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States