Russell's Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This is a delicious soup. I used chicken broth and still added a bouillon cube, which gave a richer flavor. Cut back 1/2 on the red pepper since my husband doesn't like too much "hot" and added 1/2 lb of scallops as well. Didn't have fresh cilantro so used dried in moderation. I used a good quality rather dry white wine as the sherry adds enough sweetness. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Ditto the other reviewer. I'm not sure what the difference is between mine and those who "loved it", but I do know one thing. Any recipe for fish stew that has SIXTEEN ingredients raises a red flag. Good fish stew is an incredibly simple recipe. With all due respect, this one ain't simple, it has too many ingrediaents and when I made it, it was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rayc441

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I made this last night- it was fantatstic. I added fresh chopped clams, extra cod and a can of sweet corn. I kept the cilantro to a minimum because I am not a big fan, and the stew still had unbelievable flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
To all reviewers who were confused how people could have such vastly different opinions on the same taste. Everyone is different. It takes all kinds to make life interesting. We are not all born from the same mother or cut from the same cloth or shaped with the same mold. Viva La Difference. It's just like lamb. You either Hate it or you Love it. Very rarely is there an indifferent. I just happen to know the one man in Washington state who stands in that middle. LOL. Anyway. I am going to go and make my own fish stew recipe right now. I will post it when I am satisfied with it, and I am certain that there will be people who think there is too much of this, not enough of that, and what the heck were you thinking making this waste of food product.... It's all good. XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I'm not quite sure what was different between mine and the other reviewers on here, but no one liked this at all. Even before adding the fish, the smell was not appetizing. Too bad, I was really looking forward to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was a delicious fish soup recipe! I followed the recipe for the most part...but added more of the ingredients listed as well as added others. I added some extra seafood: shrimp, crab legs, shelled clams as well as canned clams, octopus (my husband likes it), extran white fish as well, and an extra can of stewed tomatoes. I also added a little more water to make it more soupy and simmered uncovered on very low flame to ensure that the liquid stayed more soupy and not stewy. I added the seafood and cilantro after the hour simmering for about 10-12 minutes. It turned out great and I served it with crusty french bread and lemon wedges on the side. My husband said he wants this for his birthday now!! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks "Dlish"...is was Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
We really loved this recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I've made this recipe many times and it's truly delish.!! I add a small can of clams and more shrimp. This is one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
We thouroughly enjoyed it and didn't think it needed to be changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I was hugry for something a little mexican tasting, so used the zesty mexican tomatoes and substituted diced bell pepper for carrots. I always use less oil, sprayed w/olive oil pam and about 1 tb oil. left out the crushed red peppers r/t the spicy tomatoes. My husband never moaned so much during a meal! It was very good, a hint of heat. Could add more at the table if you wanted. The broth was phenomenal! Served w/brown rice to add to the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States