Russell's Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was very good! I didn't have shrimp in my freezer so I used clams, scallops and fish and it was still great. Next time will definitely add the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I am making this for this evening ... it is cold and rainy here today ... I will serve it with hot bisquits ... however, I intend to prepare it emphasizing the 'stew-like' quality vs. 'soup-like' quality and serve over white rice ... I have miscellaneous small pieces of fish in the freezer ... so I will use them this way and add shrimp ... my mother made something like this ... we loved it ... I will report in tomorrow as to the outcome!! UPDATE ... Okay, I made it!! And it was utterly fantastic ... of course, I made a few slight alterations ... which is not always the best thing to do to a recipe ... but I did ... used a bit of bell pepper, clams in the can vs. clam juice (wanted stew not soup) ... used red vs. white wine ... wanted a richer stew ... used various fish and shrimp vs. white fish ... otherwise, I followed the recipe to a tee ... we absolutedly loved this stew ... it was wonderful ... served over white rice ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
To all reviewers who were confused how people could have such vastly different opinions on the same taste. Everyone is different. It takes all kinds to make life interesting. We are not all born from the same mother or cut from the same cloth or shaped with the same mold. Viva La Difference. It's just like lamb. You either Hate it or you Love it. Very rarely is there an indifferent. I just happen to know the one man in Washington state who stands in that middle. LOL. Anyway. I am going to go and make my own fish stew recipe right now. I will post it when I am satisfied with it, and I am certain that there will be people who think there is too much of this, not enough of that, and what the heck were you thinking making this waste of food product.... It's all good. XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was EXCELLENT! I made a few changes, not many but some. I used 6 cloves of garlic, 1 can of Rotelle tomatoes and 1/2 can of stewed tomatoes, 1 can of College Inn chichen broth and added water to bring it up to 2 1/2 cups,2 pkgs. of Wyler's chicken boullion, 3/4 lbs of shrimp cut into 3 pieces, 3/4 lb talapia, 1 can minced clams, a sprinkle of crushed red pepper flakes, sprinkle of dried thyme and Italian seasoning. I also diced up 1 baking potato.I used a pretty good Chardonnay and creme sherry. All the other ingredients remained the same. my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Delicious! I upped the red pepper flakes to add a little more kick. I used cod fillets which I cut into small pieces and I used a whole pound of shrimp. Overall everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachmarc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I liked it! Good Flavor. Not a huge fan of Cilantro but when I choose a recipe, I like to follow it to a tee the first time. Next time, LESS (maybe NO) Cilantro for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Tried this on Sunday, and threw in some chopped up lobster tails that had been in the freezer too long and cod and shrimp. I thought it was out of sight. I went a little heavy on the red pepper flakes but the end result was fantastic. I will do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen
Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was a delicious fish soup recipe! I followed the recipe for the most part...but added more of the ingredients listed as well as added others. I added some extra seafood: shrimp, crab legs, shelled clams as well as canned clams, octopus (my husband likes it), extran white fish as well, and an extra can of stewed tomatoes. I also added a little more water to make it more soupy and simmered uncovered on very low flame to ensure that the liquid stayed more soupy and not stewy. I added the seafood and cilantro after the hour simmering for about 10-12 minutes. It turned out great and I served it with crusty french bread and lemon wedges on the side. My husband said he wants this for his birthday now!! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks "Dlish"...is was Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe. We made enough to have leftovers and it was even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States