Russell's Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is a fantastic soup, and deceptively simple to make. We altered some ingredients as follows: 1 can RoTel Diced Tomatoes w/ Habaneros for 1 can stewed tomatoes, 2 cans Bar Harbor Fish Stock for water, 2 tablespoons Better Than Bouillon No Chicken Base for chicken bouillon cubes. Used sea scallops rather than fish but only because they were already in the fridge. We also had some left over fresh Italian parsley which we chopped and added with the cilantro. If you like a soup with some kick, the Habaneros give it to you and the fish stock gives an added depth of flavor. This is a top shelf soup recipe for us, and plan to enjoy it often! Thank you Dlish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I stuck to the exact recipe and it turned out suprisingly good! I knew it would be good, but it was REALLY GOOD! My dad brought the pot to the table when there was no more left and wiped the pot with a piece of bread! It says 6 servings, but it's really more like 4. If you're feeding 4 or more, you should probably double up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I've never tried making a fish stew, but in searching for new and interesting diet-friendly things I found this. Super scrumptious -- so deliciously flavorful, and with just the right amount of spiciness!!! I used tilapia for the fish (had 3 lbs. of it in the freezer), plus added a can of whole baby clams along with the juice. I didn't have sherry, so just used the white wine. Other than that, followed the recipe as written. Read all of the reviews (mostly all positive) and can't quite understand the one that claimed there are too many ingredients for fish stew?? I guess we all have our own tastes, but this is restaurant-quality IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I was really concerned about the amount of alcohol in this soup because if something tastes like it has too much wine then my kids do not like it. I should not have worried. I cannot believe how fast my family ate this! I had to use diced tomatoes instead of stewed so I am sure that did create some difference but it was still great. The main thing I did differently was sub half the shrimp with a large can of whole baby clams. I used the broth for the clam juice and just dumped the clams in after it had finished cooking. That worked perfectly since my youngest does not like shrimp and pulled it out. More for mel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great stew! Used tilapia and sherry instead of white wine because that's all I had and it still came out great.I also added one additional chipotle bouillon cube to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
THE WHOLE FAMILY LOVED IT!!! Thank you! Used cod and shrimp rather than clams; veggie bouillon rather than chicken. Added some Cajun seasoning. Let it simmer for an hour before adding seafood. I'll definitely make it again! Although there are a lot of ingredients, it's not hard. :) Oh, so savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Simple and delicious! I used wild alaskan rocksole, scallops and shrimp. I also added okra and corn. I also added 1 C sherry in addition to the white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
LOVED it! Followed the recipe exactly as stated and it was a big hit, even with our 9-yr-old! This will be a cold-weather staple in our house for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is a ridiculously good soup. The only suggestion I would have is to cut back on the red pepper, it was a tad bit spicy. Like another reviewer, I added a can of corn and it was amazing! Used a pound of tilapia for the fish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was delicious!!! Very easy 2 make, hearty & filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sfincher823

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States