Rush Hour Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I doubled this recipe. Instead of measuring out the tablespoon amounts of the onion and garlic, I used half of one small yellow onion and two cloves garlic. I ran them through my mini food processor for a finer texture. These were very, VERY good. Out of the whole batch, my family (including our additional family guests) at every single bite of these beans. My husband and son went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This was soooo good and simple! I did forget the onions, but added dehydrated after I realized. Also, I used butter instead of bacon grease. YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisser73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Made these to go with tacos the other night when I was short on time. These were very good and super fast to make. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I love refried beans but I can't have a lot of salt and canned beans have loads of salt. These refried beans are so delicious! I skipped the bacon grease too in order to make them low fat. I followed the recipe other than the bacon grease and I thought they were so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made these with some left over kidney beans I had and the flavor was phenomenal. This is a quick and easy was to make re fried beansl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I've made this several times now, and we love it. I don't use bacon grease simply because I never have any sitting around the kitchen. I use just a little oil to cook the onion and garlic, and it turns out fine. Such an easy side dish, and the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
In my experience whenever I go out for Mexican food the ubiquitous rice and beans are generally left on the plate. They’re not very appetizing looking and neither taste very good either. But not this time! While these still leave a lot to be desired in terms of eye appeal, the flavor is startlingly better than most. I reserved and crumbled the bacon I fried to create the required bacon grease and I think the addition was a bold flavor contribution, as was the chopped green onion I garnished them with. This takes the lowly Mexican bean side dish to an elevated level. Just needs salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
My husband and I loved these. The bacon grease gives great flavor. This is now my default recipe for refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Did not have bacon, but it did not need it. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
These are really good, I won't be buying store bought any more. My Hubby really likes them. I didn't have bacon grease, just lard, and we don't use garlic. I just used onion and cumin. I will be makeing these often. LOve them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States