Rush Hour Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I doubled this recipe. Instead of measuring out the tablespoon amounts of the onion and garlic, I used half of one small yellow onion and two cloves garlic. I ran them through my mini food processor for a finer texture. These were very, VERY good. Out of the whole batch, my family (including our additional family guests) at every single bite of these beans. My husband and son went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
In my experience whenever I go out for Mexican food the ubiquitous rice and beans are generally left on the plate. They’re not very appetizing looking and neither taste very good either. But not this time! While these still leave a lot to be desired in terms of eye appeal, the flavor is startlingly better than most. I reserved and crumbled the bacon I fried to create the required bacon grease and I think the addition was a bold flavor contribution, as was the chopped green onion I garnished them with. This takes the lowly Mexican bean side dish to an elevated level. Just needs salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was really good, however CAUTION, CAUTION, CAUTION, do not under any circumstances just throw the whole can with the juice into the pot as it is way too much liquid; fortunately I figured that out before I dumped it in and actually only used about half of it. What I did to make the mashing easier is to drain ALL of the liquid into a bowl, mashed the beans (much easier when they're not swimming), add your seasoning and then add the liquid to the consistency you like. Me, I like mine thick not runny like you get in most restaurants. These were absolutely delicious and I will never buy refried beans in a can again (they always taste like the can!) when these are so simple and tasty. Remember to add the salt, this has none listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryMorgan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I really liked the flavor on these beans. I thought the cumin would be too much, but it wasn't at all. I have made a similar recipe, but it didn't have the extra garlic and onions. The only change I made was using, butter with canola oil for the fat instead of bacon grease. My beans were a little on the thin side and that might be why. I am waiting for them to cool, to see if they thicken up some. I am also going to try it next time with low sodium beans, since the liquid in the can is so salty. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
These were delicious! I didn't have time to read the reviews, so I dumped the whole can w/ liquid into the pan...they were a little thinner than I would've liked, but I'll know to add the liquid gradually next time. Great flavor...a little salt and it was good to go~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I love refried beans but I can't have a lot of salt and canned beans have loads of salt. These refried beans are so delicious! I skipped the bacon grease too in order to make them low fat. I followed the recipe other than the bacon grease and I thought they were so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
These were very tasty and simple....though I will reduce the bacon fat greatly next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
For a healthier option, I do this: pour half the beans and about half the liquid into a blender, add about 2 tsp. of olive oil, cumin, garlic and dried onion. Blend until smooth. Add the rest of the beans and blend real quick until mashed a bit but so you still have chunks. Transfer all from blender into microwaveable dish using a spatula, top with jack cheese and heat through until beans are hot and bubbly and cheese is melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Very good. I even made a batch with lentils. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Good, and easy to make! Followed advice of other reviewers and drained the beans before mashing, then added bean liquid back into them to get desired consistency. I also used Earth Balance butter in place of bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States