Rush Hour Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I really liked the flavor on these beans. I thought the cumin would be too much, but it wasn't at all. I have made a similar recipe, but it didn't have the extra garlic and onions. The only change I made was using, butter with canola oil for the fat instead of bacon grease. My beans were a little on the thin side and that might be why. I am waiting for them to cool, to see if they thicken up some. I am also going to try it next time with low sodium beans, since the liquid in the can is so salty. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
These were very tasty and simple....though I will reduce the bacon fat greatly next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I doubled this recipe. Instead of measuring out the tablespoon amounts of the onion and garlic, I used half of one small yellow onion and two cloves garlic. I ran them through my mini food processor for a finer texture. These were very, VERY good. Out of the whole batch, my family (including our additional family guests) at every single bite of these beans. My husband and son went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
My husband and I loved these. The bacon grease gives great flavor. This is now my default recipe for refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Did not have bacon, but it did not need it. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This was soooo good and simple! I did forget the onions, but added dehydrated after I realized. Also, I used butter instead of bacon grease. YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisser73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I love refried beans but I can't have a lot of salt and canned beans have loads of salt. These refried beans are so delicious! I skipped the bacon grease too in order to make them low fat. I followed the recipe other than the bacon grease and I thought they were so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made these with some left over kidney beans I had and the flavor was phenomenal. This is a quick and easy was to make re fried beansl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was really good, however CAUTION, CAUTION, CAUTION, do not under any circumstances just throw the whole can with the juice into the pot as it is way too much liquid; fortunately I figured that out before I dumped it in and actually only used about half of it. What I did to make the mashing easier is to drain ALL of the liquid into a bowl, mashed the beans (much easier when they're not swimming), add your seasoning and then add the liquid to the consistency you like. Me, I like mine thick not runny like you get in most restaurants. These were absolutely delicious and I will never buy refried beans in a can again (they always taste like the can!) when these are so simple and tasty. Remember to add the salt, this has none listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryMorgan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I've made this several times now, and we love it. I don't use bacon grease simply because I never have any sitting around the kitchen. I use just a little oil to cook the onion and garlic, and it turns out fine. Such an easy side dish, and the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States