Runzas II (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I have always wondered what those meat pies were called. My husband is of Polish descent, and his grandmother called it Cabbage Bread. Our filling is made with both ground beef and ground pork, browned with onion. Then add Bay leaves and chopped cabbage and let simmer in covered pot until cabbage is tender. Then add cooked rice. That's what we add to the frozen roll dough we're thawed, kneaded and rolled out. No MSG needed. Plenty of moisture from the pork -- in fact a little too much so we have to drain some of the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
we call these PEROSKIS. We make a variety of fillings, but the concept is the same. unthawed frozen bread dough cut into about 8 slices and then each rolled out into a flat round and then fill with your filling, fold and seal - and we have actually pan fried them (much quicker) just cook slowly so they won't burn. Drain on paper towels well. Yum Yum. We have made them with pizza type fillings, ground beef and cheddar cheese, ground beef with a homestyle gravy and mixed veggies depending on our mood at the time. Very easy and so versatile. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seekaye5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I omitted the MSG and added shredded carrots. Not bad. Using the frozen bread dough made these quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
After eating the regular Runza's in NE. for years (it's a franchise) It was great to find this reciept! Next time we will use a reciepe with the sweet bread, the frozen just doesn't have the same taste. The filling was great - we did 1/2 with MSG and 1/2 without. We could taste the difference the MSG makes. Overall a great quick reciepe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This recipe was GREAT! I didn't add MSG, I just seasoned the ground beef with cummin, garlic powder, and onion powder, I also cookied the cabbage first in beef broth... I'm sure whatever kind of broth you have on hand would do. I also added cheese and green peppers. I just bought pilsbary french bread dough (2 tubes). I made this for my husband and his, plus my 6 year old, we ALL loved it!! And my husbands friend was VERY impressed... and it was SOO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
These have been a family favorite for years! My mom obtained the recipe from one of our neighbors. I use a head of cabbage and one medium onion. I brown the meat and onions(adding olive oil if the meat is too lean), then add the cabbage and season it all to taste with salt, black pepper, some garlic powder and a little sugar which brings out the flavor of the cabbage. I've tried it with bread dough (both frozen and home made), but by far the easiest way is to use canned biscuits. I buy a 4-pack of 7.5 oz cans of buttermilk biscuits. (It has to be the regular, inexpensive biscuits because the dough on the Grands and flaky varieties won't seal properly). Use two biscuits (put one on top of the other) and roll them out with a rolling pin. I like to put a small piece of velveeta cheese on the dough (small! about the size of a quarter - too large and it will just melt out), then add about a tablespoon of filling. Bring the edges up and pinch together. Be careful not to overfill because it won't seal. Place sealed side down on a greased baking sheet (that way the cheese melts into the filling). If you line your baking sheet with foil it makes clean-up a snap, especially if you are using cheese. These are great hot out of the oven topped with a bit of butter and some yellow mustard. I freeze the leftovers in a single layer in gallon-size freezer bags. They are also delicious warmed over. I will be serving these to company tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Loved this! The cafeteria at the hospital I used to work at many years ago made these and I used to eat them every time they were on the menu. This is almost exactly like the ones they served. I served them with beef gravy, and my husband asked for seconds- almost unheard of for a new recipe for him. Will see how the left overs heat up tomorrow... if there are any once my son gets home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Yes, it is from Poland actually,veeeeery yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPEARL20
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I've made these for several years. Love them! Great way to use up cabbage, serve something different. There are lots of ways to change it up--you can use your favorite homemade bread/roll dough recipe. I never use MSG, but different seasonings like sage, parsley, red pepper, etc. I also like to make it with half ground turkey and half pork sausage, but ground beef is good too. I always serve it with soy sauce (probably TOTALLY against what native Runza-eaters do, but I'm American, right? At least soy sauce is classier than ketchup, ha ha).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I had some gorgeous cabbage from my CSA and didn't know what to do with it, so I used this recipe. I LOVE IT so much. I didn't use the MSG. I seasoned with salt and pepper and a little adobo to taste. Man, was this insanely good. I am not even that big a fan of cabbage. A++++++ Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States