Runzas II (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This recipe is awesome! The first time I made it as written and loved it but wanted to jazz it up the second time, so I swapped out the beef for ground pork, and added a small can of mushrooms (drained) and some Italian seasoning, holy cow! Yum! Also, if you get Rhodes frozen Texas rolls, one roll is the perfect size for each runza. PS... I have worked in restaurants for years, MSG is literally in EVERYTHING! (Including Lipton onion soup mix and most frozen bread dough) to anyone who is sensitive to it, please check labels.. It can be avoided, but it's far more common than you think, and it's also a lot less harmful than you think, read up on it, you may agree to disagree, but you probably eat it everyday anyway without even realizing it, so the 1/2 tsp in this recipe won't kill you, but you can certainly skip it, it's not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Tastes very good. I'm czech too. Well my mother is. We make a similar filling with hamburger, onion, butter, cabbage, rosemary, salt and pepper. If you want to replace MSG, try Parmesan cheese. Parmesan has the highest amount of naturally occurring MSG than any other food and is often used because of that. You can also try to find Torula yeast (yeast extract). MSG is a flavor enhancer and so is torula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This was a great recipe, particularly for a Sunday night, as I ended up with a LOT of left-overs. Unfortunately, I couldn't find the frozen bread dough, so I went with refridgerated bread sticks from Pillsbury. It still turned out great! The only problem I had was that after baking, the bread dough came apart, so instead of closed balls, I had open packages. The taste wasn't affected though, and it might have been due to the different dough I used. I think the filling is also good by itself: I have a lot of filling left over and I'm thinking I might just eat it as is, rather than putting together the actual runzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
leave out the msg and use sour kraut instead they are much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccook, Nebraska, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is the way I make my krautkuchen. Frozen bread dough is a very easy substitute for making your own dough. I left out the msg, and I put alot of pepper in the meat mixture for a little pep. I love these things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Economical, easy-to-fix recipe. I did add lipton soup mix to add flavor. No MSG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
these were very tasty! Not sure why, but mine turned out pretty salty. I nixed MSG and instead, opted for a bit of beef bouillon, so that could be the answer to the saltiness question. So delicious, nonetheless, and definitely will be making this again (with no-sodium bouillon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedShannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I doubled the recipe, drained ALL the fat and did not add MSG. I added one packet lipton onion soup and 1 can fiesta cheese soup. Then I put it in the dough for Amish White bread on this site. Fabulous and plenty of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
EVERY ONE LOVED THEM.EVEN MADE A VEGGIE ONE WITH BROCCLI AND CARROTS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Excellent--added garlic, allspice, and cumin. Had a little leftover cream cheese that I added to make the mix a little creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States