Runzas (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
These were awesome! I followed the recipe for proportions and cook times but did take the suggestion of others to season the meat and cabbage with a bit of dried onion, seasoning salt, garlic, coriander, and marjoram. I also stirred the cheese right into the meat filling after cooking. All kids (including the big man child) loved this. I mean really loved this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This was fun to make but I had to give it four stars because if I didn't add a bunch of extra seasoning it would have been very bland. I added garlic, garlic salt, red pepper flakes and cider vinegar. Next time I will add onion too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I love this recipe I have had it before but tonight I made it myself!! I did make a few changes though I used about half of the cabbage and added mushrooms and onions because well everything is better with them!! I also added garlic powder. I also rolled out the dough into a circle and sealed them using a fork just to make it look a little bit nicer!!! I left out the oil and let them cook and when they were done I glazed them with melted butter and some more garlic powder!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I wasn't sure about using frozen dough, but it turned out nicely. I added fresh onions, garlic and sweet peppers and brushed them with olive oil. I had a few pieces of bread left over so I opened a can of apple pix filling, put a nice heaping of the filling on the dough, sprinkled some cinnamon and nutmeg on top then sealed the dough with a fork and we had a nice dessert to go with our Runzas. Thank you for the recipe; good, fast and easy. That's the ticket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsDeb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I agree it needs onions and garlic. Otherwise I loved the ease of making it with Rhodes Frozen Dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
love to make these with sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvie TorokNagy Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Added 2 Tbsp worsteschire sauce and 2 tea hot paprika. brown hamburger with onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
OK, the four star rating is probably my failure, not the recipe maker's... but I could not make this recipe work, even though the results were delicious anyway! I went to two grocery stores and could not find frozen bread dough. I found of course Pillsbury croissants, biscuits, pizza dough, etc. but no frozen uncooked dough. I ended up getting what I thought were frozen rolls but when I opened the bag, I saw that they were pre-cooked vs. dough. So I ended up making sliders basically, but they were still good. Also I have never cooked cabbage and I only had room in my saucepan for half a head, and had to use another pan for the meat! So I have leftovers. Maybe I will try making my own bread dough... but I would love to find a recipe for these that includes bread instructions because I don't know what time to start making them and prep ahead. Thanks for the yummy recipe; maybe one day I'll figure out how to make it for real!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURISSIMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Amazing thank you for the recipe. I remember these from when I was a kid and it took a lot of searching before I found this. "mostly because I was spelling it wrong lol ! " great recipe the only thing I did different " I added about 1/2 cup of some good german lagger an then slowly cooked it off before stuffing the Bierock excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melmel00
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I used Grands biscuits (buttermilk, original) and they turned out delicious. I even brushed melted butter on top of the biscuits before baking and they turned out golden and beautiful. I even added a picture. Definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melmel00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States