Runzas (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Oh, these are yummy. I'm not real good w/dough so I first tried canned french bread. Then I tried using frozen rolls. I had a hard time keeping the mixture inside the dough while baking. I also added the cheese to the mix before stuffing to save a step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Fabulous! Very easy to make, although I cheated a bit. I used pre-made croissant dough (garlic-butter flavor). Because the ground beef and cabbage are cooked before going into the oven, it only took 10 minutes to toast up the croissant dough before it was done. The end product was excellent. My husband said this is one of the best allrecipes’ recipe yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Wonderful! I added sauteed onions and mushrooms. I stretched my dough to far, they came out more like calzones, only two to a cookie sheet! But I wanted to use all the filling. Will try to restrain myself next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I have made these several times, and I don't change a thing! I love these its one of my favorites. My Grandmother was so impressed that her "baby girl" could cook so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlynnklein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Persia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
My grandmother has made these for years using the boxed hot roll mix. She has never put cheese on them and instead of ketchup and mustard we always ate them with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Best recipe for Runzas that I have found. I added mushrooms and swiss cheese to half of them. They were so soft and yummy. Very easy to fix also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNISTAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
My family loved this recipe (especially my husband and even my VERY picky 5 year old) and I couldn't believe how easy it was! The only changes I made were added onion, and garlic salt, and used both mozarella and cheddar cheese, next time I think I might at some mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Good, basic recipe for runzas. I used a recipe for sweet bread that was very good with this. Next time I would substitute one of two things. Either sub some or all of the beef for full flavored sausage OR sub the cabbage for sauerkraut. It needed just a little bit more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
We've made these in our family as long as I can remember, but used sauerkraut instead of cabbage. They are much more flavorful, with or without cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Made this a couple times - once as is and the second time I substituted sauerkraut for the cabbage. Liked the tartness of the sauerkraut but would definitely make it as is again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States