Runza Burritos International Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is an easier version of Bierock or Kraut Bergers from the Nebraska area. The original recipe does not have the red pepper flakes, cheese, or garlic, lots more black pepper and the filling is wrapped inside roll dough. Farmer's wifes would make these for Saturday night supper because they were made up earlier in the day and baked at supper time so cleanup was a breeze and then off to town they could all go for Saturday night. Love the flavor and now can enjoy them without all the mess of making the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Delicious. My six year old who LOVES macaroni & cheese and rates all other meals against it says it's even better than mac & cheese. I was not exact in my measurements and did add steak seasoning in lieu of salt & pepper to add a little pep (while still staying rather true to the recipe.) I also added the shredded cheese to the meat mixture just before putting in the tortillas (for simplicity sake.) Will absolutely make again! Could be an easy go to make ahead meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Just made these for dinner tonight. Excellent recipe, with just a couple small changes. I seasoned the ground beef while it was browning, as some other reviewers recommended, and I added a couple splashes of Worcestershire sauce as well when I added the veggies and water and seasonings. I added chopped green pepper as well with the cabbage and onions, the more veggies the better, I think. Really tasty dinner, even my 7 year old ate it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Wasn't one of my favorite dishes. Was easy to make. Added sour cream. Not sure I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Love this. I added a couple of chopped shitake mushrooms and julienne'd carrot coins to the veggie portion, and used smaller tortillas...rendering a serving as two smaller stuffed spinach tortillas. I served with Yogurt Spinach Dip from this site. Excellent combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Have to admit I have never had a Runza before but they sounded yummy (and I needed to use the head of cabbage in my fridge!). I scaled back on the red pepper flakes for the kids, but added some red bell pepper and a bit of shredded carrot, both for taste and a bit of color. It was WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonssponge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Cant say that i really enjoyed this, i had to add some tomatoes and sour cream. Wouldnt make this again in a fit .....sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is a variation on a Nebraska staple. In the US we are talking ground round steak which is ground beef. We used to make them with 2 pkg. of Pillsbury Hot Roll Mix, 1 head of cabbage, same ground beef, no red pepper flakes and a little Worcestershire sauce for seasoning. Use a handful of dough, , 1/4 c. filling, pinch the sides, let rise 10 min., and bake on a greased cooked sheet, at 375 for 20 minutes. Just like the ones at the Runza Hut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Alternatives: Crescent rolls, hamburger buns, sauerkraut for cabbage, turkey for beef, chili powder instead of red pepper flakes. Might try mild cannned chopped chili peppers. Since it's a burrito I'd also check out different kinds of salsa, guacamole, sour cream, olives, taco chips or maybe a layered bean dip. Accompaniments might include orange or watermelon with lime juice, or a salad of fruit, a potato or macaroni. or fruit salad. Can't give it 5 stars because red pepper flakes usually aren't to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This recipe sounds very much like a German dish called Bierocks, only using flour tortillas instead of dough. Bierocks are really tasty and this recipe sounds like it would be also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States