Runza Burritos International Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Yummy! A quick and easy way to make "Runzas" if you've got a hankerin' for them! Thanks for the idea Virgil! I never would have thought to use tortillas in place of the bread. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
These were enjoyed by the whole family! I made the meat/cabbage portion, while my daughter worked beside me making the tortillas! Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chefbound
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
these were very yummy. i left out the onion and added some powdered onion instead and used turkey meat and flour tortilla's. very flavorful and scrumptous. a very easy and fast "go to" meal i will for sure make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made this exactly as written. It was very good. A little "nippy" due to the red pepper flakes. My husband suggested that the next time I make this, the meat needs to be seasoned...so I will add a little salt and maybe onion powder or garlic powder when browing the meat. Thanks for the great recipe. It was easy to make and I will definately make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Porterfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
i used ground turkey instead of beef, and added chili powder and salt to make it less bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
These are really good! And filling! I ended up using more ground round (2 lbs), and 2 medium onions because my half head of cabbage was kind of large. These really came out delicious. My wife really dug it with sour cream, but I ate it naked. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I'll definitely be trying these--it sounds awesome. I will use low carb tortillas and make them even healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This recipe sounds very much like a German dish called Bierocks, only using flour tortillas instead of dough. Bierocks are really tasty and this recipe sounds like it would be also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Alternatives: Crescent rolls, hamburger buns, sauerkraut for cabbage, turkey for beef, chili powder instead of red pepper flakes. Might try mild cannned chopped chili peppers. Since it's a burrito I'd also check out different kinds of salsa, guacamole, sour cream, olives, taco chips or maybe a layered bean dip. Accompaniments might include orange or watermelon with lime juice, or a salad of fruit, a potato or macaroni. or fruit salad. Can't give it 5 stars because red pepper flakes usually aren't to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is a variation on a Nebraska staple. In the US we are talking ground round steak which is ground beef. We used to make them with 2 pkg. of Pillsbury Hot Roll Mix, 1 head of cabbage, same ground beef, no red pepper flakes and a little Worcestershire sauce for seasoning. Use a handful of dough, , 1/4 c. filling, pinch the sides, let rise 10 min., and bake on a greased cooked sheet, at 375 for 20 minutes. Just like the ones at the Runza Hut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States