Runza Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My whole family loved this recipe! Made the recipe as written, but used a tougher bun than suggested. Bought Jimmy John's sub bread (a local sub shop), brought it home, and loaded it with this filling. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
These were great. It was a quick and easy way to enjoy the taste of Runzas. I added a slice of swiss cheese and they were perfect.Yep I'm from Nebraska! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Our ratio of meat to cabbage was way off (it was mostly cabbage) but it was delicious. Served it over bread like sloppy joes, but I actually preferred it without the bread. Will definitely make this again - we'll try to have a better meat/cabbage ratio next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
We enjoyed these. They're essentially just Runza (also called bierock) filling piled on a bun rather than inside dough. I did up the mustard, add some garlic powder, and add a few tablespoons of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Based on the reviews, I was hopeful this would be a good winter rib-sticking and flavorful meal. I tasted it near done and my tastebuds nearly died of boredom! Tastes like boring cabbage with a little beef (yawn). Luckily, I thought fast and dumped in a 6 oz can of tomato paste and it seemed to salvage the investment (along with a little hot sauce). Would probably be better with real Kraut instead of bland cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I would be more inclined to say these originated with Russian immigrants in Nebraska. I was not raised in either Iowa or Nebraska, but the Runza restaurant chain originated in Lincoln, NE. And their are entire neighborhoods labeled "Russian bottoms". It's a great fast food chain if you happen on one in the midwest. Their sandwiches are yummy and this is a good one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goodhue, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Murdock, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is originally from Germany, not Iowa. Also they are originally called Bierocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I grew up with a recipe very much like this one. I was raised by my Polish grandmother and my Russian grandfather and meals like this were just about always a staple food. I'd almost forgotten how good these tasted. We'd have these over macaroni when my Grams didn't have time to bake. Sometimes my 'Djeda' (Russian for Grampa) replaced the fresh cabbage with saurkraute because he loved to cook even more than my Grams. Any which way that was decided to eat this meal, it was always fantastic. Thank you for bringing back many cherished memories with this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutton, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I remember eating runzas from a german bierock shop...but these were not it. Sorry. no one in my family liked these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was excellent. I will be making this again. Quick, easy and delicious! :) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curttori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States