Runaway Bay Jamaican Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This stuff is fantastic! Made it with chicken tenders on skewers. I put this together and took it with us camping last weekend. It was a big hit and I'm making it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I was surprised at how little of this marinade actually permiated the chicken. It was acceptable, but will have to be tweaked, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This was good and something unusual. The habanero gives it just the right heat but it was a little oniony for my families taste. Maybe with a couple tweaks it would be something we would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Fantastic flavor! I doubled the sauce and used it to make chicken wings for a Caribbean-themed party - they were awesome and got rave reviews! I did tweak the recipe slightly by adding lime juice and a bit of coconut milk. To make wings: Bake wings according to directions on bag, then baste with sauce and bake 10-15 minutes longer on each side (baste again after turning over). Put them in a crock pot and add the leftover sauce. Keep warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Made this last night for my husband and company. I 1.5 the recipe and used about 12 breasts and there was plenty of marinade - I even saved some to brush on during cooking. I used 2 seeded jalepeno peppers instead of habanero becasue i was afraid it would be too hot. Turns out, it could have been hotter. Next time, I will use 4 jalepeno peppers. This was great and everyone raved - I will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bumgardner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I thought this was fantastic. I wasn't too sure of it by the smell when I was marinating it but once I put it on the grill it started smelling wonderful. My fiance ate FIVE pieces of it. The only change I made was using a jalepeno instead of a habenero. I didn't want the heat to take away from the flavor. Also, make sure you marinate it for atleast 8 hours. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This takes a little effort to mix up in the food processer ( I hate to clean it), but it was well worth it. I had to use garlic powder, ground ginger and jalapenos from a jar, but it was yummy.I used fresh cilantro from the garden and it gave it a great flavor. I marinated it all day then grilled it and had leftovers the next day for a grilled chicken salad for lunch. I look forward to using this recipe again! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This recipe makes a ton of marinade. It was way too sweet for me. Only thing I left out was nutmeg because I did not have any. Threw out the leftovers. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I thought I'd hate it since it called for cilantro but it was good and we had no leftovers which is high praise from my family. If you like cilantro than you'll love this. If you're not a fan the flavor is not overpowering. The spice combination did not overpower the meat so I wouldn't decrease the spices. And the brown sugar made a nice carmelized browning since the breasts I used were skinless. This would be good with turkey too. I found it made alot of marinade. I did up 6 breasts and I had lots leftover so I froze it. Hopefully it will keep well that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This is my favorite chicken dish now. It has such a unique flavor but it is so tasty. I first found it when my daughter needed a recipe for a project on jamaica and figured oh what the heck we will try it! The one thing I substitute is the habanero I think they are a little to spicy so I use anahiem and they are REALLY good. I Make this all of the time now and I am addicted to it. My Family loves it too! Thank you so much for introducing this to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States