Runaway Bay Jamaican Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
it was also way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I didn't even make it to the eat part. I followed everything exactly and tried the marinade before I even put the chicken in it. It was, um, just gross. Definitely not for me, which is weird because I love all the ingredients that go in it. Something is just off in this recipe. The balance of spiciness, saltiness, sourness and sweetness must be considered not only in each dish, but also between the six or more dishes shared per sitting, and this recipe fails miserably. For those who want to try this recipe, I recommend reducing the spices. It overpowers the marinade. I am disappointed. Oh well.... not all recipes are for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I took a big risk with this recipe by making it for a party of over 30 people without testing it first, and was made very nervous by the smell of the marinade (which before cooking isn't very pleasant) and the smoke when cooking it on the stovetop (it set off the fire alarm 3 times before I was done cooking, and filled the house with smoke!), but ultimately it did not disappoint! Everyone loved it, even one of my friends who is from the Virgin Islands. I adjusted the recipe for 25 servings, and rather than using the 4 habanero peppers, I just used one jalepeno pepper without seeds, and it still came out great but not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is really good! My husband liked it, too. Restaurant quality and flavor. Made twice already. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I am in love with this marinade in general. For my family's sake I omitted the habanero and substituted three seeded jalapenos. I seared the chicken over hot coals then cooked it indirectly on the grill. Boil your marinade and pack it on the meat while it's cooking, the chicken is juicy and superbly flavored! This is definitely going into our regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuakerBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carthage, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Cinnamon and nutmeg are a little overpowering , I would recommend decreasing these spices .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
The kids and hubby enjoyed this so it's a keeper. I didn't use pepper, sugar or cilantro so it was not spicy but still was flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This was great, so much flavour. I used half a red onion and half a habenero and it was enough, my toddler loved it. I made the full recipe so we had leftovers and made quesidillas the next night yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Great marinade! will definitely make again. Really good served with a mango-pineapple salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
While this recipe doesn't claim to be 'jerked chicken', the flavors are somewhat similar. Still, it left me wanting to taste the traditional allspice and thyme. I skipped the cilantro as I don't care for it and used skinless chicken thighs as they withstand a longer marinade time better than boneless breasts. Grilled low and slow, this island-inspired chicken was very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States