Run For The Roses Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Ever since I first made this as part of our Kentucky Derby celebration, I cannot stop making it. It was a huge hit, my family requests it constantly! What makes this so great is it is as easy to make as it is yummy. I use a whole cup of chips instead of the 3/4 indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJELLA5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
What a wonderful treat and great addition to our Kentucky Derby Party. I only thing I would suggest is to be sure to serve this pie with some ice cream or Cool Whip. Thanks for sharing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Awesome recipe! Quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
This is a great Kentucky Derby Pie. I did halve the Bourbon and it still had plenty of Bourbon flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Very good recipe - I used pecans instead of walnuts, and I found that in my (gas) oven it took about 45 minutes to bake. I actually made two of these pies, one using vanilla instead of bourbon, and discovered that both tasted equally good. Thanks for the recipe - it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
This, although tasty, isn't quite what I consider to be a traditional Derby Pie. Derby Pie is a little more moist and fudgy than this lighter version. (Almost a brownie texture) Walnuts are traditional, but I think pecans would have been better. (Just a matter of taste.) Keep it authentic and use a small-batch Kentucky Bourbon. (I used Woodford Reserve.) Make sure you serve warm with a scoop of vanilla bean. Enjoy...and make sure to wear your flashy hat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I didn't have any bourbon, so used kahlua liquer instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Yummy, quick, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA
Living In: North Stonington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This pie is absolutely one of my favorites. I have had something similar in local steak restaraunt but this tops it. I shouldn't give the kid friendly rating because we kept this one to ourselves. (Told the kids it had yukky stuff in it) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
this is good and easy, but really rich, so cut SMALL pieces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States