Run For The Roses Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This is a great recipe - I made it for my inlaws over the Holidays and they loved it. I also used more Bourbon and Vanilla. This is a super easy dessert that tastes like it took forever - a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This recipe is great! I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I find it very hard to tell when it's done so sometimes it's over/under-done. The only ingredient alteration I make is adding a little extra bourbon and vanilla. After everyone loved the pie, I made these in bar form for a picnic: they turned out GREAT! For a 9x9 pan, I used 1.5 times the recipe. One circular pie crust still covers the bottom of the pan - I cut off the excess crust about 1/4" up the sides. Baked for 30-35 minutes. COOL COMPLETELY before you cut them into squares. Next time, I'll double the recipe and use a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
From a girl who was born and raised in Louisville, KY, this a darn good rendition of a Derby favorite :) I've tried quite a few Derby Pie recipes and for how simple this is and how good it tastes, this is my new favorite! I don't do alcohol in my recipes, but I did add some pure vanilla as suggested. This was a HIT with family and friends and, most importantly, with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was devoured at last year's Derby Party! Easy to make and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayfield, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I have made this countless times. Added vanilla extract as well as quite a bit more bourbon. Also, used a whole package of chocolate chips. Made this the day before for a friend's birthday. Also, makes great tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was delicious. I followed the advice of some other reviewers and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I only used 2 tsp. of bourbon, because I didn't have much, and felt this was sufficient. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGRILLON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This pie was delicious and very easy to make. It was quite rich though, so be prepared with some whipped cream or ice cream. It baked up beautifully with a nice crust of cooked sugar on top. It was a perfect end for our Thanksgiving dinner (celebrated a bit early)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Farrer Stelma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This pie was very good, but I wanted a little stronger bourbon flavor. I would probably double the amount of bourbon in the pie next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This pie just won me 1st prize in a pie bake-off with 50 other pies. Turned out great on my first try. Very easy to make and set up nicely. I used a few variations: add some spice with dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg; use dark chocolate chips for more intensity; and coffee liquore instead of bourbon. I know these variations may make it less "traditional" but this recipe overall is a genuine 1st Place Winner. Thanks, Judi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
ok pie, as a ky gal i can say this one is not even CLOSE to derby pie :-(, so if that's what you are going for try something else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States