Run For The Roses Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
What a great recipe. This improved on my mom's family recipe that she taught me years ago. I stuck with some of my own stuff though for some items: 1. used 1 teaspoon vanilla and no bourbon. 2. I used 1 egg yolk instead of 2 eggs for a more gooey pie. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Highly delicious! I have made it twice in one week - my coworkers were very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Overall not bad, but I would recommend adding at least 1/2 cup bourbon because it gets lost in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
It doesn't get any easier than this. It tasted like a giant chocolate chip, nut cookie! It was really good. We served it at room temp but I think next time I will try to plan on it still being slightly warm when served. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I loved this recipe. It was so easy to make.I made it for my Kentucky Derby Party.Everyone ate it up.I am going to experiment with different chips and nuts.Great for a last minute treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Like many recipes this seemed to be one that was what you made of it. I read others' suggestions and used pecans rather than walnuts, and I used raw turbinado sugar instead of granulated sugar. Woodford Reserve is the bourbon I keep on hand for recipes, and that lent a very nice flavor to the pie. I doubled the recipe and I ended up stirring the batter in with the filling a little--the batter was too thick to really mingle with the chocolate and nuts, so I helped it out. Served this with vanilla Blue Bell ice cream and it was absolutely divine. Both pies were inhaled by fellow Derby partygoers with great enthusiasm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
this is a tasty pie. it is on my kentucky derby dinner menu. easy enough, so i make 2 of them. they are rich but well worth it. bet on this one, it is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Delicious, though not what I anticipated. I thought it would be similar to a pecan pie, but it is more like a deep dish chocolate chip cookie. I baked one for Thanksgiving day and another one the following day since I had ingrediants. I used Southern Comfort instead of Bourbon and it was just fine. I put 2 tablespoons in the second one and it did not alter the consistency. I are with a few dollops of cool whip. This is a keeper! Fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
delicious pie! a little too sweet, but much better than using karo syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Right, it's not like the original Derby pie...IT'S BETTER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Moskal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States