Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was pretty good. I halved the recipe b/c I only used a 2 pound roast and then I only cooked it on low for 5 1/2 hours. I tasted the juice halway through cooking and it was a little spicy for my tastes so I added some beef broth and that helped a lot. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerThyme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Good, tender and moist. Although, I didn't add cayenne or chili powder. Didn't have any and we're not big on 'hot' stuff. Was easy and made the house smell good, too. Gravy was tasty, too. Will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
WOW, this was so tender and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I used this on some venison rump that I had. I also added a lipton onion soup packet and made it as a sandwich with au jus dip. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I have made my roasts this way for years and it's the only way they turn out tender and not dry. The only thing I do different is I use 1 cup of beef broth made with the sodium free beef boullion since my husband has to watch his sodium intake, and I sprinkle garlic powder and cracked pepper on top. I usually start it the night before since I work the midnight shift and take it out by afternoon. We then use the leftovers for beef soup. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
this is a nice change of pace from traditional pot roast. i made some changes which gave the meat, onion, potatoes and liquid a nice flavor. brown the meat and partially browne 2 whole onions added the liquid to the drippings-1/4 c.cider vinegar and 1/4c water, instead. for the dried rub which i let marinate while the partially defrosted meat was thawing. i used picante(goya) seasonings and the rest was pretty much the same. new twist on old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Fantastic! I did make some changes to the ingredients. For 1.75lb rump roast I used 1/2 tsp pepper, paprika, celery, onion seasoning, 1 tsp chopped garlic. Mix in small bowl, I added 1-2 Tbls Honey Mustard, spread the mixture over the roast let it sit overnight. The gravy and roast was fantastic!! I did not add potatoes or veggies, I served mashed potatoes and veggies on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This was great!! I wanted a simple way to cook a rump roast and I found it. I did not need to change the recipe at all. I cut it thinly and served on hoagie buns with melted cheddar cheese. My kids loved it. Not to spicy and not bland at all. They said it was better than anything Arby's has. We will have it again. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and found that the roast was extremely dry. Pouring the Au Jus or drippings over it helped some once it was cut up or shredded but didn't add a lot of flavor. It just tasted like a nothing special roast to me. It was simple to do though and an inexpensive way to feed a group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Great recipe, worked wonderful with an Antelope Rump Roast I had. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States