Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This is a keeper. I can understand that some people might think that it is a little spicy but, for me...The spicier the better! This was so easy and impressive. I used a whole bottle of amber beer instead of the water. Once the roast was done I thickened the juice with some corn starch and blended it up. I really can't say enough...this was really yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
WAY too much black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
The roast came out way too spicy and of course so did the juice it cooked in. It was a waste of time and money. I have ripped up this recipe card.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Ok, I don't know where the flavor went. I did exactly how the recipe instructs to do. The meat texture came out great. Very tender! But with all the spices, the meat still came out flavorless. I tried adding garlic salt, parsley, pepper, seasoned salt, garlic powder to the Au Jus and still no flavor. Don't know what happened?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy Jay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This came out very good, good seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
i think this would've been a great roast if it wasn't so spicy. there was way too much cayenne pepper and chilli pepper. i tried it to try something new and i am so disapointed. like omg! but to each its own. i usually like spicy stuff but it just wasn't right to me i guess....toodles!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I have a brand new crock pot and am an experienced cook. This was dry and very bland I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I will tweak this a little bit because I found this to be too peppery - although my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Great recipe. For anyone who says it is too peppery I just wanted to point out that the spices are just a rub. I don't think it is ment to be piled on just rubbed in till covered and well seasoned and the remainder disguarded or saved as you would with any premade rub. I ended up with half of the rub left over but the flavor was amazing on the roast. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Combs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was pretty good. I halved the recipe b/c I only used a 2 pound roast and then I only cooked it on low for 5 1/2 hours. I tasted the juice halway through cooking and it was a little spicy for my tastes so I added some beef broth and that helped a lot. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerThyme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States