Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Tasty recipe. I used 1/2 the pepper so my kids would eat it and threw in half an onion and a few cloves of garlic. The au jus is very good! I cooked about 7 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I found this recipe looking for something to do with rump roast. Our crock pot is extra large and our rump roast was on the small side (3.2 lbs) so I worried about it drying out, but with some slight modifications, it worked wonderfully. I added some olive oil to the mixed spices to make a paste, used the paste as a rub, and browned the meat lightly on all sides on the stovetop. I used 1.5 cups water (so added an extra cup) to rinse the rest of the paste out of the mixing bowl, and poured the liquid into the crockpot. I put the browned meat in on top, put the lid on, and let it cook away on low for 7 hours. The meat came out perfectly--tender, moist, and easily pulled apart. I strained the au jus through a cloth and added some salt to season. We used the meat and au jus on french dip sandwiches, and are looking forward to eating the rest of the meat in shredded beef tacos this evening. LOVE this easy, tasty recipe--will probably be a crock pot staple for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This turned out nice and tender. I put a bit more water in for more juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This roast is fantastic. The first time we cooked it we followed the directions exactly (except we cut the cayenne in half to minimize heat) and the roast was quite tough and dry. We did it again and cut the time back to somewhere between 8 and 9 hours and it was absolutely perfect! So juicy and tender...and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Maybe it was our cut of meat, but this just came out really dry and overdone. And yes we did it on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This recipe was perfect. The meat came out very tender and not as spicy as some of the reviewers lead me to believe. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I reduced to seasonings as suggested and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is a great base recipe. I never thought about making a rump roast spicy, but this was delicious! I did change the amounts of the spices, (1 tsp black pepper, 1 tsp chili powder, 1 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, and 1/2 tsp celery salt) I omitted the mustard powder and added 1 tsp EACH onion powder, garlic powder, and seasoning salt. Instead of the water, I mixed 1 pkg of Au Jus seasoning mix with 2 c. tomato juice into the bottom of the crock pot before adding the roast and the rub. My family loved it!! Even my 12 yr old who rarely eats roast, ate 2 helpings and it wasn't so spicy that my 3 yr old grandson couldn't eat it, either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I basted during the cooking process. My husband HATES roasts, and he actually told me this was good! This is a definite repeat recipe in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is very good. I had a 3 1/2 pound roast. I followed the recipe except I used coffee rather than water. It's really not spicy, my 4 year old and 2 year old sons didn't even think it was spicy. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeromesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kappelrodeck, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States