Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
It wasn't bad. 2 out of 4 people liked it. But since I'm the cook, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was super good. The only change I made was I added some onions at the end, and I didn't have celery salt. The first night we ate it as is, the second we had french dip poboys with the au jus. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by louisiana bourbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this for dinner tonight, but I didn't have time to do it in a crock pot, so I just did it in a covered dish. I added about 2 cups of water along with some carrots, potatos and onions. I cooked it at 450 for about 35-45 minutes, them reduced heat to 350 and cooked for another 1 1/2 - 2 hours. My husband said it was the best roast he had ever had. Very tender and Juicy! We love it spicy, didn't change a thing! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Average results. I left out the chili powder. My roast was dry and too spicy. We ended up tossing the au jus and eating the roast, sliced, smothered in A1, in sandwiches. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Est10865

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
after reading the reviews I cut back the pepper to 1 teaspoon and halved the chilli and cayenne. I also increased the water to a cup. The meat was beautifully tender and this made a great fuss free meal. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Did a half-size recipe. It turned out bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I cut back on the spices by about a third as many commented that this recipe was very spicy. Overall, I thought that this was a solid recipe. I didn't have eight hours to cook it, so I put it in a crockpot on high heat for about 5 hours and the meat still turned out extremely tender. I served with barbeque rather than the au jus and thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I will gladly give this recipe 5 stars. It simply tastes wonderful to everyone I know of. I've made it quite a few times and, most likely, will never stop. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I didn't get exactly what I wanted out of this recipe, but only because I used a smaller roast (so the flavors were more potent) and HOT chili...the kids thought it was a little too spicy but otherwise, everyone else agreed with a bigger roast it would have been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I made this exactly as stated (ingredient-wise), and in my oven's slow cooker, in which a lid is optional. Foolishly, I didn't cover the roast, so the meat was dry. I'll make this again, but with tweaks that others suggested. I love spicy, but found this too spicy. We're eating it without the spicy crust, and adding (I hate to say this) Worcestshire sauce, A-1 and Heinz 57 (different sauces for different eaters). Has potential. But if you aren't into spicy, don't expect to like this. Read others' reviews and tweak appropriately. My tongue is still burning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States