Rump Roast Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I followed this recipe to the T. It was so tough and tasteless. I used a 3.5 lb rump roast. Coated the meat really well - using 3/4 of the rub. Only addition was 1 onion sliced put in the Rival crockpot with the meat. Covered and cooked for 6 hrs on super low (8-10 hr setting). I could barely cut through the meat. And the edge piece with all the rub was flavorless. Super dry. Very disappointed. Had to coat it with a gravy just to palate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Next time, I would cut down or even omit the cayenne. We like spice, but it was a bit overpowering. Otherwise, this turned out really moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
We cut back on the spices. Can always dd more later if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
So very good. Didn't last long in this house. We liked the kick. We used it for French dip sandwiches. Nom! Nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blkcat118

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My Husband and I love this recipe. I've made it multiple times. The only thing that I changed was I added more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Delicious moist roast with a little kick. Came out very tender, you could cut with a fork. The spices give it a little kick but not too strong. I also made a creamy horseradish sauce to go with the meat. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This came out more like a roast beef than a pot roast, but still very delicious. The spice rub on the outside was fantastic. But I used fresh ground pepper, which I'm guessing maybe others did as well when they criticize the dish for being too spicy. I cut slits in the meat and stuffed in with garlic cloves as well. I cooked it on a bed of carrots, celery and onion. Placed the meat on top. Added the water to the veggies. So the water never touched the meat until later in cooking. Because of this it wasn't pull apart tender, but still delicious. I did thicken the au jus with some corn starch (for a completely gluten free recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erial, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This turned out really well for us. I was concerned about the lack of liquid initially but the juices start oozing and eventually there was a lot. I took it out at 8 hours and let it rest for 2 before I went to slice and realized that it would actually pull. That was a nice surprise as we were using it for sandwiches. I strained the fat from the juice and put the pulled meat back into the liquid. I'm sure that made it even better. Making this again for football on Sunday. Go Bills!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I found it to be way too spicy--too much chili powder, perhaps? I added potatoes and carrots with three hours left to cook and they turned out great...just wish the meat and au jus weren't so fiery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Very easy and came out great. I used Curry powder instead of Chili Powder. Also added Onion powder and it came out very good!!! It added a sweet hint to the meat and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States