Rumaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
I HAVNT HAD RUMAKI IN YEARS. THIS CAME OUT VERY GOOD AND I WILL MAKE AGIAN. NEXT TIME I WILL NOT TELL ANY OF THE KIDS AT THE PARTY IT IS CHICKEN LIVERS. VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I love this recipe, one of my teachers when I was younger use 2 bring Rumaki for lunch,he would always share with me. I have searched for the recipe for a while now and could not find it. Thank You Dot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
It is not necessary to fry- put rumaki in 350 oven and bake until bacon is crisp. Saves calories and mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
A variation of this was taught to me by my godfather and he called it Angels on Horseback. Same basics - chicken liver and water chestnuts wrapped in bacon. He marinated them in a 50/50 white wine and low sodium soy sauce for several hours before frying. Always a hit at our parties. Only use regular soy if you really really like salty food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Hubby Loved it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Made this for the big game day at our home. Changed it up a bit, used Turkey liver because it was on sale. No one knew the difference. I also made some with no water chestnuts, just liver and some with no livers just water chestnuts. That way everyone got what they liked. Distinguished them using different colored toothpicks. Made about 75 of them, had only 15 people over, and no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I make these frequently, but I've never used these seasonings; I usually just marinate in soy sauce, brown sugar and onion. But this was REALLY good. I don't use livers, just water chestnuts. And a tip for lowering the fat: You can also bake them in a 400 degree oven for about 15-20 minutes. They come out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Loved this recipe but used sea scallpts and shrimp instead of chicken livers. I am just brave enough. Loved the flavor and will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My mom came up with an updated version of this traditional dish that is much more of a crowd pleaser. Even the picky eaters love it, and it's constantly requested. You marinate water chestnuts in the terriyaki-type sauce, then wrap in bacon and skewer with toothpicks to hold. Let the little bundles soak in the sauce for one hour, then bake slowly on a foil-covered broiler pan or cookie rack till the bacon is cooked through (about 45 min at 350). Broil carefully for 5 minutes to caramelize, and serve warm. These are the most requested dish she makes, and please many more people than the traditional version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBrown
Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
My mom made this for every party she had back in the 60's. I am having a 50's-60's style party for my 50th birthday this year and wanted to find that recipe. I should have known it would be on Allrecipes.com! I'm so glad. Now I can serve it at my Birthday Party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Aussie Chicken

Saucy baked chicken with cheese and bacon.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States