Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I used rum and these were the best I've made. Everyone loved them, go light on the alcohol though, a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I got rave reviews on these and will make again! I doubled the recipe, using the same measurements as below, except instead of 5 cups of vanilla wafers i used 1 whole box (finely ground in the blender, i think it equaled about 3.5 cups) and only 2/3cup of Makers Mark bourbon, and no nuts. I served these after one day they were made, but def. thought the bourbon was stronger after setting/ soaking. A box of these would be a very nice gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Loads of praise for these! We used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet and it cut the liquor taste down a bit. Also used only about 1/3 c. of bourbon and it was plenty. Everyone at our party went bonkers over them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I don't do deserts at all because I always find a way to mess them up and I really don't have much of a sweet tooth, but these were easy to make and while a bit sweeter than I'd like, they were pretty d*** good! I finally found something that I can't over/under cook, and that alone is worth 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
My Aunt and my cousin fought every year over bourbon balls that a friend of the family send over at Christmas. Never have making these candies before I decided to give them each their very own container of them for Christmas. They LOVED them, and they will be recieving them every year from here on after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Rum Balls are tradition in Germany during the xmass Holidays. I usually buy them online at a German Store but decided to make them myself this year. Remembering how my grandmother used to make them I took this as a basic reciped using milk chocolate. One week before making the Rum Balls I took 1/2 cup of Raisins (a must in the original rum ball) chopped them up and soaked in the Rum for the week. If you do not like Rum you can also try using Amaretto. Then finished the recipe. The closest thing I found to the original thus far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTOS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I've made this recipe for the past 4 years and I can't stress to you how POPULAR these rum balls are! I use 151 Rum and usually have to make about 3 to 5 batches for my husband to bring to work. Everyone has dubbed them "Kris' Famous Flaming Rum Balls!" Thanks Elaine for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This has become a christmas tradition amongst my family members. They're quick, easy and oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
These were easy to make and I have never made rum balls before. Tasted great and a big hit. Overheated my blender trying to crush vanilla wafers, so be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This recipe is soooo awesome. I cannot make them without everyone I know wanting them. I have had to scale the recipe 8 times, just to have enough to go around. I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States