Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
YOWZAAAAA! Fantastic recipe! These taste just like the rum balls my mom made during the holidays. When I told her about them, she said it sounds like the same recipe although she used crushed grahm crackers instead of the vanilla wafers - so there is a substitution if you don't have any Nilla wafers on hand! I do have the following advice for making this candy though: 1. Use the "real" vanilla wafers - off brands with off tastes will affect the quality of your rum balls.The standard 12-ounce box makes your 2 1/2 cups of crushed cookie crumbs. 2. Crush the wafers in two batches in a food processor. This makes them powdery and very easy to mix into the mixture. 3.DO REMOVE THE MELTED CHOCOLATE FROM THE HEAT AS SOON AS ALL THE CHIPS HAVE MELTED and before adding the sugar, alcohol, corn syrup, and cookie crumbs. Even on a gas stove, leaving it on the eye with the heat turned off will make your chocolate "seize" and it won't be teh correct texture you are looking for. 4. Melt the chocolate chips in a 3-quart saucepan on the smallest eye on your stove on Low heat, stirring almost constantly. Once the chips are melted, you can add the remaining ingredients to the saucepan and still have lots of room to stir without making a mess all over the counter. 5. I find the chocolate cools quick enough once you are through stirring to handle and make into balls. The first time I made these, I did refrigerate the mixture and it made it difficult to roll into nice balls - they were kind of
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Rum Balls are tradition in Germany during the xmass Holidays. I usually buy them online at a German Store but decided to make them myself this year. Remembering how my grandmother used to make them I took this as a basic reciped using milk chocolate. One week before making the Rum Balls I took 1/2 cup of Raisins (a must in the original rum ball) chopped them up and soaked in the Rum for the week. If you do not like Rum you can also try using Amaretto. Then finished the recipe. The closest thing I found to the original thus far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTOS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
loved em............. i heat the bourbon in the microwave and dissolve the sugar in it before mixing with the melted chips and syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These really go faaaaasssst! These rum balls were way too easy to make and very tasty too. I made one batch to see how they came out...and now I am in the process of making about 4 more batches to give out as gifts this Christmas..and maybe even Diwali next year! A few suggestions: 1) Roll the balls in cocoa powder or a mixture of cocoa and icing sugar. Only icing sugar or white sugar makes it too sweet. Rolling the balls in crushed nuts is great too! 2)Add the rum soaked raisins for a richer taste. 3) If the mixture turns out too liquidy, just let it stay in the fridge a bit longer. 4)And yes, bit of alcohol goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
My first batch I used milk chocolate chips and captain morgans silver rum. They were great and everyone loved them. The next batch I used semi-sweet with some cheap rum and they were terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anndria Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I used white chocolate and Midori Melon flavored liquer, for "Melon Balls". They're a deliciously different take on rum and bourbon balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
These are very good with bourbon (never tried the rum). I ran out of vanilla wafers and wanted to make another batch, so I substituted crushed graham crackers, and they worked well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I made these for Christmas this year. They were very popular at my holiday party and I was asked for the recipe. I see the logic of dissolving the sugar in the rum after making them - I'll do that next time. They really do get better as the 7th day approaches. Excellent recipe; thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Loads of praise for these! We used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet and it cut the liquor taste down a bit. Also used only about 1/3 c. of bourbon and it was plenty. Everyone at our party went bonkers over them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I used rum and these were the best I've made. Everyone loved them, go light on the alcohol though, a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States