Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made these for my husband in Afghanistan. They survived the journey very well, and the week they spent being shipped over made them taste even better when they got there - he loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
These are veryyy good. I was worried they were going to be too strong with how much rum was in them, but they weren't at all. I made them for my family get together, which means kids too, so I made a portion of them without rum and just added a little vanilla. Those were good too. It did frustrate me rolling them though because they kept wanting to break apart on me. I found it helpful to warm them in my hands and then roll it out. I don't think I can wait a week for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I made these a couple of years for our annual cookie exchange and were they a BIG hit!!! My sister especially loves them so much that she has requested them again for this year's exchange. Definitely one of the best recipes to be passed down. YUMMIE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
everyone who did taste these all said these are the best, my mom loved them very much, I made these twice both times for chirstmas very christmasie....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
These are excellent. I'd suggest making a double batch if you plan on having any left over -- they go FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Delaware, USA
Living In: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
They did come out a bit dry and rolling theminto balls was a bit hard because of how crumbly they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This recipe called for more rum or bourbon than most recipes. I used bourbon for these and did rum balls using another recipe, even those who usually prefer rum liked these better. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Walsh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I didn't give a full 5 star only because I changed a couple of things. I tried these twice. Attempt 1: followed recipe except: no walnuts, used Bourbon and Bourban soaked raisins, dissolved sugar into Bourbon. Results: They were way to strong. I could barely eat one. Attempt 2: used white chocolate, Malibu Rum, Rum soaked raisins and walnuts. Results: Soooo yummy. The amount of rum was perfect the texture was cookiedough-like and the flavor was absolutely wonderful. I got several compliments and many recipe requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
As written, these were way too strong for me; they tasted like a straight shot of bourbon. Reduced to 1/3 cup bourbon and they were fine. They never really set either time I made them and were quite messy, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States