Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I didn't give a full 5 star only because I changed a couple of things. I tried these twice. Attempt 1: followed recipe except: no walnuts, used Bourbon and Bourban soaked raisins, dissolved sugar into Bourbon. Results: They were way to strong. I could barely eat one. Attempt 2: used white chocolate, Malibu Rum, Rum soaked raisins and walnuts. Results: Soooo yummy. The amount of rum was perfect the texture was cookiedough-like and the flavor was absolutely wonderful. I got several compliments and many recipe requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
As written, these were way too strong for me; they tasted like a straight shot of bourbon. Reduced to 1/3 cup bourbon and they were fine. They never really set either time I made them and were quite messy, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
These are awesome! Everyone loved them! Nice and potent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These are great! I added a little ingredient of my own, I soaked some raisins in a cup of Rum the night before I prepared the mix... it adds a different kick! i also made some true to the recipe, they were GREAT! will make them every Christmas from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is a great recipe! I substituted the Rum for Grand Marniere (orange liqueur) and the nuts for dried orange peel. The result has been outstanding. I also dipped the finished product in melted chocolate and then coated them in icing sugar. Definitely a recipe to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Really good! The only change I did was to use powered sugar instead of granulated. And I couldn't wait a week to eat them. Just one day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Never made rum balls before. Recipe was easy and they taste great even without waiting seven days. I made gift bags with 6 each coated with nuts and confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is my second year with this recipe, and it's THE one! I made them to add to cookie trays, last Christmas, with bourbon and the optional nuts. They were the hit of the tray, and I got a lot of requests for the recipe! Everyone seems to agree, this is the standard by which to measure all rum balls :). This year, I made them with rum, and no nuts. They're also delicious, and I'm packing them with various other homemade candies in tins. I'm sure these will be a hit, as well. Fantastic recipe, deserving of 5 full stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
how easy and soooo good at bringing holiday spirit! i used pyrat reserve rum and rolled them in coconut flakes, chopped roasted almonds, cocoa powder, or powdered sugar. a little trick i found to help bigger things like nuts and coconut stick to the outside: roll them in a little water and then roll them in the desired coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliza Finley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I make these each year for my gift baskets for my hairdresser and her partner. They are a crowd pleaser #1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States