Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Great recipe, I was hoping they would be a hit, as my husbands family had never tried a rum ball and they have a more "adult" taste. I saw people recommend less rum, but I went with the full 1/2 cup. For me personally I would have gone with a bit less rum, but people still loved them with the original recipe. They were eaten up quickly and my husband loved them! Next time I think id add nuts, which I left out for allergies purposes. And roll them in sprinkles instead of powdered sugar, they were very rich, could have used a bit more sweet to balance it all better. Great recipe to mod though, thus gave five stars ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I took these to a Christmas gathering and they were the hit of the party! I was concerned that they would be dry due to I used 3 cups of the vanilla crumbs (didn't read the recipe all the way through first!), but they ended up being fine! I used dark rum and didn't use walnuts (I had assumed that walnuts would be mixed into the dough - which is why I used extra crumbs). My first time making anything like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I've made a few bourbon/rum ball receipes and this one is bar far the best! My family can hardly wait to eat them after I've made them. I have to hide them until they are ready! I think it's the combination of chochoalte chips and walnuts. They don't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Made these for a co-worker who LOVES these....she just rolled her eyes, so I'm thinking this is fabulous. Had a little trouble getting the bourbon into the chocolate....zapped for 30 seconds and everything was fine......super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made these last year and again this year for my Christmas Cookie Exchange. I like to add a little more rum for an extra punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Gluten Free Version - This year, I'm making a GF version using half GF animal crackers and half GF graham crackers instead of the vanilla wafers. They haven't "cured" for the five days yet, but the early taste tests went well. :) I've made these now both with rum and bourbon. Although both are good, the bourbon is better, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Yummy! I used 1/4 confectioners sugar,as 1/2 granulated in the mix per another review, then rolled in granulated. Also used 1/3 cup Bailey's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
SUPER EASY. Great as gifts that everyone will want again next year. I used this recipe as written and it was perfect. Used rum last year but this time I may used a coconut rum I have. Hard not to have a few test tasting balls for quality control. Worth making ahead five days for the full effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made these last christmas,everyone loved them,exspecially my son in-law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I found them a little on the gritty side. Maybe the sugar should be melted with the chocolate? I enjoyed the ones with amaretto in them more then the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States