Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Wow! That week wait was so long, but worth it. So GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was my first attempt at making rum balls, and OMG they came out amazing. I did tweak the recipe, as all I had were Dark and Milk Chocolate bars, Oreos and Digestives, I separated the Oreos and crushed the cookies then heated the rum as suggested and added 1/2 the sugar and the oreo filling. When the mixture was cooled I used a measuring tsp and rolled them into balls which were the perfect bite size, I then rolled them in unsweetened cocoa powder as I found that the sugar made it too sweet. This recipe yielded 70 tsp size balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
My household is full of Captian Morgan fans... these balls vanished in no time at all..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These were by far, the best rum balls I've ever had. Not too super strong that you can't eat them, not too wimpy that you couldn't taste the rum. Good recipe. Definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Kersting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Made these for a holiday party. I think I added a bit too much rum...but they were still really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calvert City, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
EXCELLENT - Very easy to make, i used maple syrup instead of corn syrup and skipped the nuts. They look fantastic and taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I've always thought of rum balls as extremely moist, but not these. I opted for less rum (1/3 cup) after reading some reviews. What you have to remember is to make up the difference you shorted with water (an afterthought for me). May be that affected the outcome. I found them not very easy to form into balls and rather crumbly. That's when I added the water. I may try this recipe again as the nuts and flavour were OK and the texture was wmooth although a bit on the dry side. I took some advice from the reviews and dissolved the sugar in the rum to avoid crystal-like texture and it worked fine. I'm not a big rum lover and after reducing the rum to 1/3cup realized I could've left the recipe as written (1/2 cup) and it probably would've been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I just made these and they are terrific. I doubled the recipe and while I had to add more vanilla wafers to make up for the bourbon, it was worth it. Terrific and easy to make! Try coating with coconut, absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States