Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
These were fantastic. I've made rum balls before using cocoa powder and thought they were delicious but these are MUCH better, creamy and the flavor is much better. The dough was much easier to work with and though I didn't roll them in powdered sugar (used different sprinkles and whatnot) I think it would adhere better than my other recipe that seemed to soak it up within an hour. This is my go to recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Terrific. Heat the rum and dissolve the sugar into it first to avoid the gritty texture. Then add chocolate and corn syrup. Went fast at the Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Palmtreegoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used one 12 oz bag of chocolate chips, 4 tablespoons white corn syrup, 1 cup bourbon or rum, 1 box of vanilla wafers crushed fine (about 5 cups of cookies...which was the whole box), 2 cups of pecans or walnuts (measure before crushing fine), powdered sugar....used same directions as above to make and it's fabulous. Just thought maybe some who found the sugar in the above recipe a little gritty would like this recipe better. It's very smooth. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
OMG. I just made these rum balls with the intention of letting the flavor mellow for a week and serving on Christmas eve after dinner...but I don't think they are going to last that long. Even with the sharp tang of fresh rum (which, incidentally, I hate and don't drink), these doughy little balls of awesome are to die for. I haven't even sugared them yet. I had a bad moment when the chocolate seized and wouldn't combine with the rum and sugar, but I beat the heck out of it with a wire whisk and saved the day. Thank you, you've made my holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Excellent recipe! I have struggled with Rum Balls every year; these are the best by far that I have ever made. I melted the sugar in the rum for 1 minute in the microwave and added 3 cups of crumbs instead of 2 1/2. Also, I dampened them with my hand (I kept one hand a bit wet for this) before rolling them in the sprinkles. This made them stick better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
These are awesome. I've been looking for a good rumball receipe for years, and finally found one. Will be keeping this one on permanent file. Only thing I didn't like and will NOT do again is refridgerate the dough. It made it very difficult to roll the dough into balls. I'm now letting my dough soften again on the counter to make rolling easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These were great! I made them last year at Christmas time and everyone loved them. These will become a holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I made one batch with Barcardi and it went over well with the men in my family. The second batch I used vanilla rum to give it a bit of a change and they were gone within two days......I think next time I will try the coconut or pineapple flavored. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
not the best, but quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
My mom and I made these this past Christmas with rum first and then with bourbon. They were quite good, but apparently my dad had asked for bourbon and not rum, so we made some with bourbon, too. This recipe is so easy that we didn't even mind doing it twice. We dipped them in different combinations of powdered sugar and walnuts. Everyone loved them, and they kept for New Year's, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States