Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
YOWZAAAAA! Fantastic recipe! These taste just like the rum balls my mom made during the holidays. When I told her about them, she said it sounds like the same recipe although she used crushed grahm crackers instead of the vanilla wafers - so there is a substitution if you don't have any Nilla wafers on hand! I do have the following advice for making this candy though: 1. Use the "real" vanilla wafers - off brands with off tastes will affect the quality of your rum balls.The standard 12-ounce box makes your 2 1/2 cups of crushed cookie crumbs. 2. Crush the wafers in two batches in a food processor. This makes them powdery and very easy to mix into the mixture. 3.DO REMOVE THE MELTED CHOCOLATE FROM THE HEAT AS SOON AS ALL THE CHIPS HAVE MELTED and before adding the sugar, alcohol, corn syrup, and cookie crumbs. Even on a gas stove, leaving it on the eye with the heat turned off will make your chocolate "seize" and it won't be teh correct texture you are looking for. 4. Melt the chocolate chips in a 3-quart saucepan on the smallest eye on your stove on Low heat, stirring almost constantly. Once the chips are melted, you can add the remaining ingredients to the saucepan and still have lots of room to stir without making a mess all over the counter. 5. I find the chocolate cools quick enough once you are through stirring to handle and make into balls. The first time I made these, I did refrigerate the mixture and it made it difficult to roll into nice balls - they were kind of
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
My husband is not a dessert eater but he loved these so much he wouldn't let me take a few to the neighbors. I made them with milk chocolate chips, bourbon, and some crushed pecans. They were too strong for my taste, but I'm looking forward to trying them in a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Delicious! Little messy, but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
These were were okay. If your not a rum fan, this is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
My first batch I used milk chocolate chips and captain morgans silver rum. They were great and everyone loved them. The next batch I used semi-sweet with some cheap rum and they were terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anndria Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Very good. Rolled some in powdered sugar and some in cocoa mixed with powdered sugar. Couldn't wait a week to eat them.. they tasted a little stronger when you don't wait, but still very good. My husband took them to a work Christmas party and they were gone fast. My Dad loves rum balls and he really loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
The rum flavour was nice, but I found they had a gummy consistency, probably from using corn syrup. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
These were excellent! Gave them for Holiday gifts and everyone raved about them. They were gritty the first 3 days but after sitting a few days, they were velvety smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I now make this every year. I adjust the amount of bourbon according to where I am taking it. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VicWarren2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Very tasty, with a strong rum flavor. I rolled mine in cocoa powder which lends more of a bitter chocolate taste. They are definitely better with age--it's worth it to wait the week for them to dry and the flavor to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States