Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I found them a little on the gritty side. Maybe the sugar should be melted with the chocolate? I enjoyed the ones with amaretto in them more then the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Everyone I shared these with thought they were delicious. I thought the texture was a little strange but I'm sure that was my doing. No one else complained and they disappeared quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
The most asked for treat every Christmas at my house. These are a seasonal must have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Reminded me of my grandmas bourbon balls, on the directions however refrigerate the mixture only till firm as we left ours in and they got wicked hard and had to rewarm them to get them to soften and then ball
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
the exact recipe i was looking for! what a hit they were with my friends! my only complaint is that the recipe claims to make 24 servings. i'm not sure what they're considering a serving, but each batch made ~45 bite-size pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made these using white chocolate chips and Cruzan Black Cherry Rum. They do get better after a few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is the very same recipe I have used for years! My advice though, put the balls in an airtight container for a few days before serving or handing out for gifts to allow time for the bourbon to mellow. I like to use Jim Beam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These are fabulous! More like rum-flavored fudge than a cookie texture, they are rich and creamy and decadent. Made one batch with rum and the second using Southern Comfort. Both turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I made these exactly as instructed minus the nuts (co-worker is allergic to tree nuts). They came out great! I have, however, renamed them drunken balls. lol Wow are these things strong! I didn't give them a week to marinate as suggested. After tasting one the day after made, they were so strong they didn't need to sit for a week! Some have suggested to cut back on the booze. I guess it's personal taste because I liked them just fine with the amount in the recipe. I made my 1st batch with bourbon (which I really like). I'd like to try spiced rum next. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These are always a hit. The only thing I like to do is... instead of rolling in chopped nuts, I prefer to place a peacan on top of the ball in a decorative cup just like they do in Kentucky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States