Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
A bit dry, but good taste and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I made these using leftover rum from the egg nog that I had made. Although I did no try these, they were a huge hit at the dessert party and everyone commented that they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Awesome I did not add the entire amount of rum and I figured some of the older kids would likely grab them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Just Okay. Maybe I did something wrong. I tasted one after 3 days and it was dry, and not nearly boozy enough. Office ate them all anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Made these for a get together, everyone complimented them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Love these...I use cherry brandy in place of the rum for a little better flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
They are just okay - not the type rum ball recipe I was looking for. I agree they are gritty. I even warmed my rum & tried to dissolve all the sugar and it did not help. I also think they are a little strong with the amount of rum called for. I followed the recipe exactly. While they are warm they are easy to work with but as they cool they do need to be worked harder and warmed in your hands to hold shape. I will keep looking for a better recipe than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Forget the corn syrup and sugar. I used mint chips instead of the semi-sweet chocolate chips and didn't need the additional surgar. They were a huge hit (and because of the mint...they're green to go with the holidays!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Pretty good, just could use a little more rum. Chocolate also clumped when adding in liquids, seemed like there was probably a better way to go about that step. Grind cookies in processor so that they are very fine, otherwise chocolate will fall apart when rolling if you have clumps of cookie. I like this mixture better then others I have tried so far. Will try with bourbon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
The dough was a bit crumbly towards the end so I pressed the dough into tiny ice cube trays with silicone bottoms. I stuck the cubes in the fridge for about 10 min. I came up with 80 perfectly formed Rum balls/bells. Great technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Petersen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States