Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have a question. I just made these and everything went well mixing and rolling them. I microwaved the chocolate just enough to melt. I warmed the rum a little to dissolve the sugar. The mixture came together nicely to roll the balls. HOWEVER, I decided to coat them in finely chopped walnuts and I cannot get the nuts to stick for the life of me. It's not an even coating, most that have managed to stick are really just impressed into the dough. Which actually I like the look of, but can anyone tell me what I did wrong? This is taking forever to coat these. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I just made these tonight so I need to wait the week to let the flavors blend. 1/2 of bourbon may have been a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Very good and simple! I made no changes and they were excellent. Very fast and simple to add to the Christmas lineup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I make these every Christmas and they are always a hit! I even made them for the dessert table at my wedding. Be sure to allow them to "rest" in the refrigerator for at least 5 days before serving. This will allow the ingredients to soften so it will not be gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I loved this recipe! I did add about 3/4 cup MORE rum than the recipe called for (but this was the adult treat). My friends and family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
These were fantastic. I've made rum balls before using cocoa powder and thought they were delicious but these are MUCH better, creamy and the flavor is much better. The dough was much easier to work with and though I didn't roll them in powdered sugar (used different sprinkles and whatnot) I think it would adhere better than my other recipe that seemed to soak it up within an hour. This is my go to recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Terrific. Heat the rum and dissolve the sugar into it first to avoid the gritty texture. Then add chocolate and corn syrup. Went fast at the Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Palmtreegoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used one 12 oz bag of chocolate chips, 4 tablespoons white corn syrup, 1 cup bourbon or rum, 1 box of vanilla wafers crushed fine (about 5 cups of cookies...which was the whole box), 2 cups of pecans or walnuts (measure before crushing fine), powdered sugar....used same directions as above to make and it's fabulous. Just thought maybe some who found the sugar in the above recipe a little gritty would like this recipe better. It's very smooth. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
OMG. I just made these rum balls with the intention of letting the flavor mellow for a week and serving on Christmas eve after dinner...but I don't think they are going to last that long. Even with the sharp tang of fresh rum (which, incidentally, I hate and don't drink), these doughy little balls of awesome are to die for. I haven't even sugared them yet. I had a bad moment when the chocolate seized and wouldn't combine with the rum and sugar, but I beat the heck out of it with a wire whisk and saved the day. Thank you, you've made my holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Excellent recipe! I have struggled with Rum Balls every year; these are the best by far that I have ever made. I melted the sugar in the rum for 1 minute in the microwave and added 3 cups of crumbs instead of 2 1/2. Also, I dampened them with my hand (I kept one hand a bit wet for this) before rolling them in the sprinkles. This made them stick better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States