Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Great flavor! My guests ate them up quickly. Next time I need to double the batch. My only suggestion is watch how long the dough chills in the refrigerator. I left it for about four hours but it become rock solid and difficult to work with. The sprinkles I tried using wouldn't adhere to the surface. My recommendation is chill for only a short time. The confectioners sugar worked well even on the firm surface and tasted the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
One word-yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by minnie1989
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These were delicious! I added some chopped raisins in place of the walnuts and they really took them to the next level. I found them to be quite boozy - which we were happy about! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minnie1989

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victor Harbor, South Australia, Australia
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Wow, these are great! I used Nestle semi sweet chocolate chips and Tortuga coconut rum, from the Bahamas, and black walnuts. i coated them in a mixture of confectioners sugar and cocoa powder. They were a bit gritty but wow they taste great! I just wish that I made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I followed this recipe except I made bourbon balls & didn't use walnuts due to an allergy. It definitely makes 4 dozen. Thanks for posting this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I subbed the corn syrup with honey, and rolled the balls in holiday sprinkles...it was a big hit at the cookie exchange I attended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have a question. I just made these and everything went well mixing and rolling them. I microwaved the chocolate just enough to melt. I warmed the rum a little to dissolve the sugar. The mixture came together nicely to roll the balls. HOWEVER, I decided to coat them in finely chopped walnuts and I cannot get the nuts to stick for the life of me. It's not an even coating, most that have managed to stick are really just impressed into the dough. Which actually I like the look of, but can anyone tell me what I did wrong? This is taking forever to coat these. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I just made these tonight so I need to wait the week to let the flavors blend. 1/2 of bourbon may have been a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Very good and simple! I made no changes and they were excellent. Very fast and simple to add to the Christmas lineup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I make these every Christmas and they are always a hit! I even made them for the dessert table at my wedding. Be sure to allow them to "rest" in the refrigerator for at least 5 days before serving. This will allow the ingredients to soften so it will not be gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States