Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I like the strong flavor, but let me tell you I think these were STRONG! Maybe a little less bourbon next time. Overall, easy and good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Just like I remember, many years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I used white chocolate and Midori Melon flavored liquer, for "Melon Balls". They're a deliciously different take on rum and bourbon balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
OMG are these ever good!!! I decided to go with the Bourbon. I coulnd't find Vanilla Wafers anywhere, so I ended up using Aeroroot cookies, and I just crushed them up super fine in my food processor. (worked fine) I'd read a couple people say that they found them grainy, so I melted my chocolate and sugar together in a double boiler. Mine have only sat for 3 days so far, but we just tried them and they are FABULOUS!!!! I'd put quite a bit of finley chopped walnuts in the mixture, so instead of rolling them in nuts, I rolled them in icing sugar. So yummy!!! Thank you for this recipe, it will definetly become a Christmas Tradition now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I thought these were alright. My guest didn't really go for them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
These are SO GOOD, and easy to make. I used bourbon and the taste is out of this world ! I will be giving them as christmas gifts if I don't eat them all first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
loved em............. i heat the bourbon in the microwave and dissolve the sugar in it before mixing with the melted chips and syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
A bit too much rum. It was pretty strong and I couldn't taste the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
these are super delish! i am not a rum fan but somehow, i was craving these. they were super easy, the most time consuming was rolling them into balls. i left out the nuts, as i did not have them and they still turned out great. i'm making another batch because i may not have enough for my holiday dinner - i can't stay away from them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I was actually worried because what i thought was a whole box of vanilla wafers was only 1 cup worth of crumbs. I added tea cookie crumbs and added 1 tsp of vanilla to the rum. I also remember people saying that the balls were grainy so I divided the rum and melted the sugar into the rum in the micorwave. This was really very easy although somewhat time consuming. I will definately make these again. Great for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States