Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These are delicious! I think next time I might try a little less vanilla wafers, but they tastes great as is. You can really taste the flavor even in just one ball. I rolled some in powdered sugar and others in cocoa powder and liked them both ways. Looking forward to trying them again in a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
If I eat a few more, I will happily give this recipe six or seven stars....ha ha! These are great with white chocolate substituted for the semi sweet and egg nog coffee flavoring (I used about 1 to 1 1/2 tablespoon of strong flavoring) plus the usual rum for inebriated egg nog balls (: If you'll be sharing them with kiddies or those who don't imbibe, jyst leave off the rum. Or make the recipe as listed, substituting 1/2 cup very strong coffee or espresso for the rum and roll in a little cocoa and golden sugar. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I added rum soaked raisins and can't stop eating them. It's very hard to wait a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
If you like the beverage, you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
We make these every year for gifts and cookie exchanges - they are the most requested. Best recipe here for these and easiest. Hint though - let the balls sit in airtight container for at least a week before eating - makes them alot mellower and more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
These are wonderful and soooo easy to make. I added a bit more rum to give the rum balls more of a kick and they were awesome. I'll definitely make these a holiday must from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
These are very good with bourbon (never tried the rum). I ran out of vanilla wafers and wanted to make another batch, so I substituted crushed graham crackers, and they worked well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
These were really enjoyed over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moore Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I made these today (used rum, not bourbon). Although you're supposed to wait a week before serving I couldn't resist trying one - - DELISH! And so easy to make - Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These were great, very bourbon-y, which is how I like them. I used chocolate cookies instead of vanilla wafers. I also used pecans. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States