Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Just made these with hubby's help. Was hard not to eat them as we rolled them. We used "Rich and Rare" Whiskey. Had to seal the container and put far away so there would be some for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
So easy to make and very yummy. I used brandy and rolled in powdered sugar. Don't think they'll last a week before they are gone.I can't wait to try the recipe with different chocolate and liqour. Ok I tried white chocolate and creme de menthe - too sweet so I think I'll stick to the brandy. I've made 4 batches so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtford

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These are delicious! I think next time I might try a little less vanilla wafers, but they tastes great as is. You can really taste the flavor even in just one ball. I rolled some in powdered sugar and others in cocoa powder and liked them both ways. Looking forward to trying them again in a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
If I eat a few more, I will happily give this recipe six or seven stars....ha ha! These are great with white chocolate substituted for the semi sweet and egg nog coffee flavoring (I used about 1 to 1 1/2 tablespoon of strong flavoring) plus the usual rum for inebriated egg nog balls (: If you'll be sharing them with kiddies or those who don't imbibe, jyst leave off the rum. Or make the recipe as listed, substituting 1/2 cup very strong coffee or espresso for the rum and roll in a little cocoa and golden sugar. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I added rum soaked raisins and can't stop eating them. It's very hard to wait a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
If you like the beverage, you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
We make these every year for gifts and cookie exchanges - they are the most requested. Best recipe here for these and easiest. Hint though - let the balls sit in airtight container for at least a week before eating - makes them alot mellower and more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
These are wonderful and soooo easy to make. I added a bit more rum to give the rum balls more of a kick and they were awesome. I'll definitely make these a holiday must from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
These are very good with bourbon (never tried the rum). I ran out of vanilla wafers and wanted to make another batch, so I substituted crushed graham crackers, and they worked well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
These were really enjoyed over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moore Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States