Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
First of all, I have never made rum balls before and made this recipe exactly as written. No one seemed to care for them, but with other suggestions listed, I believe I could put together something that tastes better. They have way too much rum for my taste and were gritty from the undisolved sugar. Cutting down on the rum and perhaps using Captain Morgans may help with that, and disolving the sugar in the rum will help the gritty taste. Also, adding rum soaked raisins is a great idea and will do that next time. But, IMO this recipe as written is not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I tried rolling these in confectioner's sugar and very finely ground nuts, and the result was rum balls rolled in confectioner's sugar, and a bowl of sugar coated nuts. The nuts did not stick! I only added nuts to half the dough, as my boyfriend does not like nuts. The ones with nuts were coated with confectioner's sugar, and I rolled the ones with no nuts in chocolate sprinkles (I tried it once with cocoa powder and did not like it at all). I have made these twice, and they were very good (though I will reduce the rum by a third and use water to make up the difference in the future -- they are very strong!). My boyfriend made them once, and they were awful, totally his fault, though. He did not grind the wafers finely enough, which resulted in a chunky, very tough cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Very yummy and hard to stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I like them but I'm not blown away. They are pretty strong. I think the problem may be me, not the recipe. The wafers and nuts really weren't fine enough. I will probably try them again. EDIT - I have to change my rating from a 4 star to a 5 star. It must have been me. These were all devoured and I was told how incredible they were and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This recipe was easy to follow, and they turned out very well - just like I remembered them! The only thing I would say is that they are a little "rummy" and definitely have an alcohol flavor to them...otherwise they were very good and definitely worth making for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
so far, so good. just finished them, so they haven't aged yet, but they taste darned good at this point! i made them lots smaller--used my #40 scoop to portion, then cut those balls in half--i ended up with almost 6 dozen. also added the raisins recommended by another reviewer, and rolled them in a mixture of 1/2 10X sugar and 1/2 cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Used Captain Morgan instead of reg rum. YUMMY!!!! I also add a little more than called for. Easy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I made these for work and they were extremely popular. I am now making these for the family. I believe I have found a recipe for the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
These are DELICIOUS!! Wow, they really pack a rum-kick! The only thing I'll do differently is use powdered sugar next time. I didn't care for the gritty crunch of the white sugar. Rolled in cocoa powder, these were a hit at my last party. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Just made these with hubby's help. Was hard not to eat them as we rolled them. We used "Rich and Rare" Whiskey. Had to seal the container and put far away so there would be some for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States