Rum or Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Delicious! Little messy, but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
These were were okay. If your not a rum fan, this is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
My first batch I used milk chocolate chips and captain morgans silver rum. They were great and everyone loved them. The next batch I used semi-sweet with some cheap rum and they were terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anndria Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Very good. Rolled some in powdered sugar and some in cocoa mixed with powdered sugar. Couldn't wait a week to eat them.. they tasted a little stronger when you don't wait, but still very good. My husband took them to a work Christmas party and they were gone fast. My Dad loves rum balls and he really loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
The rum flavour was nice, but I found they had a gummy consistency, probably from using corn syrup. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
These were excellent! Gave them for Holiday gifts and everyone raved about them. They were gritty the first 3 days but after sitting a few days, they were velvety smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I now make this every year. I adjust the amount of bourbon according to where I am taking it. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VicWarren2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Very tasty, with a strong rum flavor. I rolled mine in cocoa powder which lends more of a bitter chocolate taste. They are definitely better with age--it's worth it to wait the week for them to dry and the flavor to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Loved these. I was able to actually make these while camping out in the trailer, so were super easy to make. I also made with Amaretto and with crushed almonds. They were definitely a hit and I will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
First of all, I have never made rum balls before and made this recipe exactly as written. No one seemed to care for them, but with other suggestions listed, I believe I could put together something that tastes better. They have way too much rum for my taste and were gritty from the undisolved sugar. Cutting down on the rum and perhaps using Captain Morgans may help with that, and disolving the sugar in the rum will help the gritty taste. Also, adding rum soaked raisins is a great idea and will do that next time. But, IMO this recipe as written is not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States