Rum and Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Oh WOW!!!! Very yummy! I also used Myer's dark rum, and got a very intense rum flavor. I would suggest either reducing the amount of rum, or using an amber or even light rum...just in case you think it might be too intense. I left out the pecans since I don't care for them...and loved the brown sugar topping! The best thing about this recipe is that it can be altered in so many ways to fit personal tastes! Very easy to simply reduce the amount of sugar, brown sugar, rum, etc if needed. All in all very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This is really wonderful - very rich and with great depth of flavor. Great for the holiday table - pretty in the serving dish and on the plate, and the recipe makes a lot! We are sweet potato casserole fans, and this one is the best I've tried. Definitely will use it again. The rum (I used Meyer's dark rum) blends wonderfully with the other flavors. I used "real" sweet potatoes baked and mashed, but canned ones should be fine with this recipe and even easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
I prepared this last year at Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. Even with a 16 year old picky teenager! I added a little cinnamon and nutmeg though for a little extra holiday flavor! Looking forward to making it this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
A very sweet casserole...Great for holidays! I sometimes cut back on the sugar. It all depends on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
This went over really well at Thanksgiving. The topping was delicious. It was a bit too sweet though so next time I'll make it with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
The pecan topping was great! I used Meyers's Dark Rum and thought 1/3 cup made it FAR too strong. I will use less rum next time I make these and I WILL make them again! Use canned sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
I tried the sweet potato recipe for a pot-luck dinner. I wouldn't consider myself too much of a cook, but this recipe was easy to follow and prepare and I looked pretty skilled with the outcome! I am planning to also take it home for the holidays to impress my mom...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
This recipe makes a pretty and delicious dish. I made the mashed sweet potatoes by baking them in the oven in syrup first making them very sweet so I cut the sugar in half. Oh it was yummy. The flavor of the rum and the sweet potaoes go so well together. Its a holiday recipe I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
Excellent recipe. I used brandy instead of the rum and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
This recipe tastes great! However, I made one alteration to it and cut the amount of sugar in half. It still tasted sweet, but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States